清朝:中国最后的帝王时代

清朝由满族勇士建立,曾经是一支不可忽视的大陆力量。 它横跨欧亚大陆的整个东半部,有从暹罗到锡金的支流国家。 然而,到清末末代皇帝即位时,它已是多次入侵和叛乱的牺牲品,已在经济崩溃的边缘摇摇欲坠。 继续阅读以了解这个戏剧性的故事是如何展开的。

建国

要了解清朝的故事,有必要对清朝之前的朝代有一个基本的了解:明朝。

明朝(明朝 Míngchao)开始了几乎所有中国朝代的开始:作为叛乱。 推翻蒙古人统治的元朝(元朝元朝)后, 明朝统治者于公元 1368 年宣布控制。

在伟大的永乐皇帝的统治下,明朝拓宽了中国的疆域,迎来了繁荣时期。 为了与过去决裂,永乐皇帝也将都城北移,命名为“北(北 běi)都(京 jīng)”或北京(北京 Běijīng)。

经过多年的忽视,明朝统治者复活了大多数中国工程奇迹的废墟: 中国长城. 成群结队地派遣农民来巩固这块摇摇欲坠的中国防御遗产。

在永乐皇帝的领导下,明朝疆域不断扩大,王朝兴盛。

1420 年,在他们权力的鼎盛时期,明朝统治者还发起了世界上最大的探险船队。 在郑和上将的带领下,明朝闻名于世。 他的旅程带他穿越了印度洋、印度尼西亚、阿拉伯世界以及非洲东海岸。 探险队带回北京的长颈鹿轰动一时。

同样,明治时期也看到了艺术的繁荣。 时至今日,优雅、图案复杂的明代花瓶仍是世界各地艺术品拍卖会上的畅销品。

然而,明朝也不能幸免于王朝兴衰的周期性故事。 到 16 世纪,整个帝国的农民都在反抗当地政府,不连贯的经济政策导致财政崩溃,内部精英分裂和宫廷阴谋达到了狂热的程度。

与此同时,非汉族臣民甚至拒绝以臣服为借口,定期对明领土进行军事入侵。 接二连三的经济危机和对政治精英的普遍不满点燃了革命的火焰。 这些叛逆的非汉族群体之一,满族,将继续推翻明朝,建立清朝。

随着明朝的衰落和衰落,艺术家石涛(如图)等汉族精英的生活陷入混乱。

满族

对他们最早记录的故意破坏,满族历史的反复改写,以及最终取代他们的汉化,使满族起源故事变得混乱。 甚至“满族”这个名字也是后来的发明,由开国皇帝选择以掩盖他的祖先(当时称为女真人)曾经受制于明朝皇帝的事实。

我们所知道的原始满族人是10世纪晋朝(晋朝晋朝)统治者的后裔。 到建立清朝时,满族人已经放弃了游牧方式,成为定居的农业家已有数百年历史。 但是,他们仍然强调对户外技能、狩猎、钓鱼和马术能力等传统技能的掌握。 另一个根深蒂固的文化特征是迷恋 猎鹰——即使在今天,人们仍会发现这一传统依然鲜活。

清朝满族人原本是游牧民族,重视对骑马等传统技艺的掌握。

他们以骑射手的技能而闻名(当他们横扫中国东北摧毁明朝时,这种能力会派上用场),他们在马背上打猎小游戏,以获得食物、运动和声望。

在文化上,满族保持了较高水平的性别平等,女性在家庭中有更大的发言权,在公共领域比汉族有更多的空间。

最初是萨满教的追随者,围绕着祖先的绥靖,在他们登上权力之后,他们越来越多地被儒家习俗所吸引,最终接受和光顾藏传佛教。 遍布北京的许多宏伟的佛教寺庙都是清代虔诚的结果。

满族虽然曾经信奉他们自己的萨满教,但他们最终信奉了佛教。

胜利的叛乱

在推翻明朝之前,满族的基地在中国北方。 清朝前三位皇帝居住在今奉天宫 沈阳. 从那里,他们对明朝发动了无情的叛乱。

经过几年的战争,满族叛军于 1644 年洗劫并占领了明都北京。在俯瞰这座燃烧城市的山丘上,明朝末代皇帝自杀了。

无奈之下,在通往中国本土的长城中央城门之一的明将军转向满族,邀请他们与他一起以死去的皇帝的名义收复首都。 成功收复京城后,满族立即决定,事实上,他们不想将京城还给明朝。

满族宣称他们现在拥有 天降大任 并将首都迁至北京。 虽然由于明朝忠臣和南方其他叛乱分子的抵抗,直到1683年才完成了对中国的征服,但清朝的时代已经到来。

经过多年的战争,满族叛军终于在1693年战胜了明朝的抵抗。

繁华的年代

1683年至1839年被称为高清时期。 在中文中,它有时也被称为“康雍干盛世 Kāng Yōng Qián Shèngshì”,指的是统治这个好运时期的皇帝。

精明的清政府(借鉴明代儒家官僚机构的最佳做法,同时仍允许适应和创新)导致了长期的经济和政治稳定。

清朝没有试图根除和取代前朝的制度,而是将满族皇权制度描述为汉代儒家制度的产物。 对清朝的忠诚等同于对祖先的忠诚。

这段稳定时期导致人口迅速增长,进而导致税基增加。 这种良性循环持续了几十年。

满族表现出吸收汉族传统以满足自己需要的才能。

陆路和海路扩张

从1750年到1790年,清帝国达到了其最大的领土范围。 乾隆皇帝共率领了十次无情的战役进入内亚,将清朝的统治扩展到了以前在中国本土以外的广阔土地上。

西藏、海南和台湾都臣服于清朝统治。 同样,在 17 世纪下半叶的一系列探险中,征服了今天的蒙古。 清军还在 1755 年至 1758 年间的一系列战役中征服了现在的新疆。

鼎盛时期的清朝是历史上第四大帝国,统治着超过 5 万平方英里(13 万平方公里)的领土。 从西部的喜马拉雅山到北部的戈壁,有450亿人在被称为天子的清帝统治下生死存亡。

在鼎盛时期,清朝是世界历史上第四大帝国。

支流

早在1636年,清朝正式建立之前,皇太极皇帝就已经入侵朝鲜。 在清朝,朝鲜被迫进入所谓的册封体制(cèfēng tǐzhì)或朝贡体制。 在这种制度下,使者必须到宫廷进贡,向皇帝叩头,承认他的优越性。 多年来,进入中国贸易的条件是接受朝贡制度的条件,朝贡制度要求朝贡国承认皇帝是唯一的天子。

在实践中,该系统包含多个实际控制的层次。 一些国家,如越南和韩国,几十年来一直受到严格控制,基本上是帝国的附庸国。

其他人,例如阿富汗的卡图尔王朝,虽然仍然送朝贡,承认清朝皇帝的主权,但与王室的联系却没有那么紧密。

在朝贡制度下,许多与中国接壤的国家的统治者都希望向清朝皇帝赠送礼物。

聪明的皇帝

在最好的情况下,清朝皇帝展示了从众多臣民那里借用思想、美食和称号的诀窍。 例如,在与汉族臣民的交往中,清朝皇帝使用中国皇帝(huángdì),而在蒙古臣民中,他们则借用了更具有当地共鸣的称号“博格达汗”。 同样,在藏人中,他们被称为贡玛.

此类策略的使用有助于解释他们如何 能够利用说服、吸引力和胁迫之间的微妙平衡,将他们庞大的多民族帝国维系在一起。

特定皇帝的个性也是维持这种平衡行为的关键。 幸运的是,清朝(尤其是在早年)得到了许多明智的皇帝的祝福。

弘太极是清朝的开国皇帝,当然也是他的家族中最伟大的皇帝之一。 他的核心见解是了解吸引汉族人加入清朝事业的必要性。 他的父亲努尔哈赤(Nurhaci)将歧视他的汉族臣民合法化,并使他们屈从于满族。 这些行为使他们不愿加入官僚或军队的行列,甚至引发了多次农民起义。

洪塔吉扭转了这些政策,将汉人纳入军队。 他还采用了儒家官僚机构的许多元素,这有助于保持新生帝国的车轮运转。

轩辕号称 康熙皇帝,是清朝事业中另一位团结广泛利益的大师。 例如,他将耶稣会传教士视为军事、数学、制图和天文知识的宝贵来源,并在他的宫廷中使用他们。 尽管受到儒家传统主义者的抵制,但他知道更多地了解更广阔的世界是如何运作的,将使中国变得更强大。

康熙皇帝是一位睿智的统治者,他通过耶稣会传教士的帮助来扩大清朝对外部世界的了解。

崩溃

清朝最终解体的原因是多方面的。 然而,它们可以概括为:经济管理不善、外国掠夺、精英脱节以及随之而来的叛乱。

太平天国起义

19 世纪中叶爆发的太平天国叛乱是清帝国基础开始破裂的第一个迹象。 这也是反满情绪第一次大规模武器化。

叛乱是由年轻而有魅力的人领导的 洪秀全. 他声称自己是耶稣基督的兄弟,并从上帝那里得到了异象,指示他建立一个没有农民生活日常折磨的乌托邦社会。 他认为自己负责建立的社会被称为“天上和平的王国”。 在他对更好生活的承诺的诱惑下,数以百万计的农民涌向他的黄色龙纹旗帜。

清朝对天平王国的碾压,是无情的。

那个时代的混乱使得确切的记录难以获得,但很可能(考虑到当时的世界人口)太平天国叛乱是世界历史上最血腥的战争。 从 1850 年到 1864 年,有 20 到 30 万人丧生。 自然灾害和清朝将领们的残暴混杂在一起,将中国的大片土地变成了无法居住的荒地。

到 14 年战争结束时,清军重新控制了帝国——但代价惨重:数百万人死亡,数千公顷的农田被毁,中国的国际地位因被迫征召军队而永久受损法国和英国的支持。

太平天国可能是世界历史上最血腥的战争。

第一次中日战争

第一次中日战争(1894-1895)是中国在外国军队面前屡遭屈辱的高潮。 几千年来,中国一直压倒日本,并利用朝贡体系小心翼翼地捍卫其在亚洲的中心地位。

然而,到 XNUMX 世纪末,日本已经实现了军事和经济现代化,并渴望展示其新发现的力量。 经过多年的外交冷遇,日本现在准备公开与中国争夺领土控制权,即朝鲜半岛和台湾。

在仅仅八个月的时间里,日本就实现了所有的军事目标。 尽管他们进行了新奇的训练和现代化的尝试(所谓的“同治维新”的一部分),但中国军队在战场上的表现仍然不佳。 对中国声望的打击是迅速而严重的。

第一次中日战争进一步向其他饥肠辘辘的殖民大国(如法国、英国和德国)证明,当迫不得已时,中国无法再对他们的入侵提供真正的抵抗,无论是商业上的还是其他方面的。

甲午战争的失败,是对清朝威望的重大打击。

义和团运动

后来被称为义和团的起义将最后一颗钉子钉在了清帝国已经腐朽的棺材上。

义和拳Yìhéquán被基督教传教士称为“义和拳”,是一个起源于山东地区的秘密社团。 多年的严重干旱和经济不景气造成了大量失业青年过剩。 这是拳击手的主要招募基地。

他们的核心信条是致力于清除中国的外国人和基督教。 起义于1900年真正开始。一支由50至100万名拳击手组成的军队进军北京,意图围攻洋区,驱逐或处决洋人。

清朝慈禧太后一方面夹在西方势力的进攻中,另一方面夹在数以万计愤怒的义和团民兵之间,站在义和团一边,正式向洋人宣战。

外国列强以被围困的使节和商人的防御为借口入侵中国。 由美国、奥匈帝国、英国、法国、德国、意大利、日本和俄罗斯军队组成的 20,000 人强大的军事联盟称为八国联盟,粉碎了义和团并进入了首都。

皇太后逃离首都前往西安,但最终她被迫签署了《义和团议定书》,该文件授权外国军队永久驻扎北京,处决援助义和团的政府官员,以及支付严重的赔偿金。

《义和团议定书》签署后,清朝仅存了十年。

在义和团运动期间,清朝慈禧太后做出了支持义和团的重大决定。

秋天

到 1911 年,帝国已经达到了崩溃的边缘。

腐败猖獗和公然。 清廷精英的僵化造就了一个缺乏适应瞬息万变的世界的能力的寄生阶级。 数十年的经济疲软削弱了税收基础,而曾经是力量来源的迅速增长的人口现在只会扩大在整个帝国扩散的反叛团体的队伍。

技术领先的西方和日本列强的到来(他们共同实施了在中国被称为“不平等条约”)以及义和团起义后强加的难以忍受的赔偿枷锁,造成了一种站不住脚的局面。

韩国、台湾和越南已经脱离了支流轨道。 当清末末代皇帝溥仪上台时,清朝灭亡的时机已经成熟。

多年来,内部一直呼吁改革和革命。 清朝的颓废创造了一种氛围,在这种氛围中,中国知识分子迫切希望找到一种方法让中国重新夺回其在世界事务中的中心地位。 繁荣和中国在外国列强手中屡遭屈辱的结束促使他们采取行动。

在这些人物中,最重要的是孙中山,现代中国之父。 政治家、医生、政治哲学家孙中山是一个为独立、强大和富裕的中国不懈努力的倡导者,他相信共和政体最能满足这些目标。 通过召集一群意识形态不同的追随者,他将在一生的辛劳之后,最终成功地建立了中华民国。

经过多年的激烈争夺,一波叛乱席卷了整个帝国。 无奈之下,童皇溥仪被迫退位,中国的帝制戛然而止。 随着溥仪的离开,清帝国灭亡,中华民国诞生。

清朝在武装叛乱中垮台后,中华民国诞生了。

怀念今清

中国最后一个王朝的遗产至今仍是争论的焦点。

清朝统治的一个主要长期影响是汉人中新生的民族主义意识。 在清帝国衰落的年代,反满情绪成为那些希望抵抗或改革政权的人的强大动力。 强调满族(以及随后的 外国的) 清皇室的本质和突出中国大多数人口的汉族血统是动员人们反对清统治者的有力方式。

然而,近年来,一些学者对清史采取了另一种方法。 与其将清朝视为中国的外来者和外来者,不如说是强调这一时期中国历史的成就,并为这个时期(尤其是高清时期)中国在中国成为主导和不屈不挠的力量而自豪。亚洲和世界。

归根结底,清朝丰富的文化成就、戏剧性的起起落落以及统治庞大帝国的时间之长,意味着它具有以多种方式进行解释和重新解释的能力。

不管是好是坏,清朝的遗产一直影响着中国直到今天。

清代词汇

汉兹拼音定义
明天早上明朝明朝
元朝袁超元朝
北,北
ī资本
晋朝金潮晋朝
清朝清潮清朝
康雍干盛世康永千生世高清时代; 康熙、雍正、乾隆盛世
册封体制(cèfēng tǐzhì)朝贡体系
皇帝黄帝皇帝
义和拳意和圈正气拳; 拳击手

一对一中文课

一对一中文课

继续探索

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

LinkedIn Facebook Pins YouTube的 RSS 推特 Instagram 空白 RSS-空白 空白 Pins YouTube的 推特 Instagram

The Qing Dynasty: China’s Last Imperial Age

Founded by Manchu warriors, the Qing dynasty was once a continental force to be reckoned with. Stretching across the entire eastern half of Eurasia, it had tributary states from Siam to Sikkim. By the time that the last Qing emperor sat on the throne, however, it had already been the victim of multiple invasions and rebellions and was teetering on the brink of economic collapse. Read on to discover how this dramatic story unfolded.

The founding

To understand the story of the Qing, it's necessary to gain a basic understanding of the dynasty that preceded them: the Ming.

The Ming

The Ming dynasty (明朝 Míngcháo) started the way almost all Chinese dynasties start: as a rebellion. After overthrowing the Mongol-dominated Yuan Dynasty (元朝 Yuáncháo), the ethnically Han Ming rulers asserted control in 1368 CE.

Under the great Yongle emperor, the Ming expanded the frontiers of China and ushered in a period of prosperity. In a decisive break with the past, the Yongle emperor also moved the capital to the north, giving it the name “northern (北 běi) capital (京 jīng),” or Beijing (北京 Běijīng).

After many years of neglect, Ming rulers resurrected the ruins of that most Chinese of engineering marvels: the Great Wall of China. Peasants were dispatched in droves to fortify this crumbling piece of China’s defensive patrimony.

Under the Yongle Emperor’s leadership, Ming China’s frontiers expanded and the dynasty prospered.

In 1420, at the height of their power, the Ming rulers also launched the largest exploratory fleet the world had ever seen. Under the guidance of admiral Zheng He, the Ming dynasty became renowned throughout the world. His journeys took him throughout the Indian ocean, Indonesia, the Arab world, as well as to the eastern coast of Africa. The giraffe that the expedition brought back to Beijing was a sensation.

Likewise, Ming rule saw the flourishing of the arts. To this day, elegant, intricately patterned Ming vases are best sellers at art auctions around the world.

However, the Ming were not immune to the cyclical tale of dynastic rise, decadence, and fall. By the 16th century, peasants across the empire were rising against the local government, incoherent economic policies had led to fiscal collapse, and internal elite divisions and court intrigue had taken on feverish dimensions.

Meanwhile, non-Han subject peoples had rejected even the pretense of submission and were making regular military incursions into Ming territory. Successive economic crises and general dissatisfaction with a political elite had stoked the flames of revolution. One of these rebellious non-Han groups, the Manchu, would go on to overthrow the Ming and found the Qing dynasty.

As the Ming dynasty declined and fell, the lives of members of the Han elite, like the artist Shitao (pictured here) were thrown into disarray.

The Manchu

The purposeful destruction of their earliest records, the repeated rewriting of Manchu history, and the sinicization that eventually overtook them makes for a confused Manchu origin story. Even the name “Manchu” was a late invention, chosen by the founding Qing emperor to obscure the fact that his ancestors (then known as the Jurchen people) had once been subject to the Ming emperor.

What we do know about the original Manchu people is that they were descendents of the rulers of the 10th century Jin Dynasty (晋朝 Jìncháo). The Manchu had abandoned their nomadic ways and been settled agriculturalists for centuries by the time they founded the Qing dynasty. However, they still emphasized mastery of traditional skills like outdoorsmanship, hunting, fishing, and equestrian ability. Another deeply ingrained cultural trait was a fascination with falconry—even today, one finds this tradition alive and well.

Originally a nomadic people, the Manchus of the Qing dynasty valued mastery of traditional skills like horseback riding.

Renowned for their skill as mounted archers (an ability that was to come in handy when they swept out of northeastern China to shatter the Ming Dynasty), they hunted small game on horseback for both food, sport, and prestige.

Culturally, the Manchu maintained a comparatively high level of gender equality, with women having a larger say in the household and being permitted more room in the public sphere than their Han peers.

Originally followers of a shamanistic religion that revolved around the appeasement of the ancestors, after their ascent to power they were increasingly drawn to Confucian practices, eventually embracing and patronizing Tibetan Buddhism. Many of the magnificent Buddhist temples that dot Beijing are the result of Qing piety.

Although the Manchus were once followers of their own shamanistic religion, they eventually came to embrace Buddhism.

A victorious rebellion

Before overthrowing the Ming, the Manchus were based in northern China. The first three Qing emperors lived in Mukden Palace, in present-day Shenyang. From there, they waged a relentless rebellion against the Ming.

After several years of war, Manchu rebels sacked and occupied the Ming capital of Beijing in 1644. On a hill overlooking the burning city, the last Ming emperor committed suicide.

In desperation, the Ming general who manned one of the central gates of the Great Wall that led into China proper turned to the Manchus, inviting them to join him in reclaiming the capital in the name of the dead emperor. Upon successfully retaking the capital, the Manchu promptly decided that, in fact, they had no desire to return the capital to the Ming.

The Manchu declared that they were now in possession of the Mandate of Heaven and moved their capital to Beijing. Although the conquest of China was only completed in 1683 because of resistance from Ming loyalists and other rebels in the south, the Qing’s time had arrived.

After many years of war, the Manchu rebels finally overcame the Ming resistance in 1693.

The prosperous age

The period from 1683 and 1839 is known as the High Qing era. In Chinese, it’s also sometimes called the ‘Prosperous Age of Kangxi, Yongzheng and Qianlong’ (康雍乾盛世 Kāng Yōng Qián Shèngshì) in reference to the emperors who ruled over this period of good fortune.

Shrewd Qing governance (borrowing the best practices of the Ming Confucian bureaucracy while still allowing for adaptation and innovation) led to a prolonged period of economic and political stability.

Instead of attempting to uproot and replace the institutions of the previous dynasty, the Qing presented the Manchu imperial system as an outgrowth of the Han Confucian system. Loyalty to the Qing was equated with loyalty to the ancestors.

This period of stability led to a burgeoning population which in turn gave rise to an increased tax base. This virtuous cycle continued for a number of decades.

The Manchu displayed a talent for co-opting Han traditions to suit their own needs.

Expansion by land and by sea

From 1750 to 1790, the Qing empire reached its greatest territorial extent. The Qianlong Emperor led a total of ten relentless campaigns into inner Asia which extended Qing dominion over wide stretches of land that had previously been outside of China proper.

Tibet, Hainan and Taiwan all submitted to Qing rule. Similarly, the conquest of what is today Mongolia was completed in a series of expeditions in the latter half of the 17th century. Qing armies also conquered what is now Xinjiang in a series of campaigns between 1755-1758.

The Qing at its height was the fourth largest empire in history, ruling over 5 million square miles (13 million square kilometres) of territory. From the Himalayas in the west to the Gobi in the north, 450 million people lived and died under the rule of the Qing emperor, known as the son of heaven.

In its heyday, the Qing was the fourth largest empire in the history of the world.

The tributaries

Already in 1636, before the formal establishment of the Qing Dynasty, the emperor Hong Taiji had invaded Korea. Under the Qing, Korea was forced into what was known as the 册封体制 (cèfēng tǐzhì) or the tributary system. Under this system, envoys were required to come to the royal court, present gifts, and kowtow to the emperor, acknowledging his superiority. For many years, access to Chinese trade was made contingent on accepting the terms of the tributary system which required that tributaries recognize the emperor as the one and only Son of Heaven.

In practice, this system contained a multitude of gradations of actual control. Some countries, like Vietnam and Korea, were tightly controlled for decades and were essentially vassal states of the empire.

Others, such as the Katoor dynasty in Afghanistan, were much less tightly bound to the crown, although they still sent tributary gifts and recognized the sovereignty of the Qing emperor.

Under the tributary system, the rulers of many of the states bordering China were expected to present gifts to the Qing emperor.

Wise emperors

At their best, Qing emperors displayed a knack for borrowing ideas, cuisines and titles from their vast array of subject peoples. For example, in interactions with their Han subjects, Qing emperors utilized the Chinese 皇帝 (huángdì), while among Mongol subjects, they instead borrowed the more locally resonant title “Bogd Khaan.” Likewise, among the Tibetans, they were known as Gong Ma.

The use of such tactics helps explain how they were able to hold together their sprawling, multi-ethnic empire using a delicate balance of persuasion, attraction, and coercion.

Specific emperors’ personalities were also key to maintaining this balancing act. Luckily, the Qing were blessed (especially in the early years) with a number of wise emperors.

Hong Taij was the founding emperor of the Qing Dynasty and certainly among the greatest in his line. His central insight was understanding the need to attract the ethnically Han Chinese to the Qing cause. His father, Nurhaci, had legalized discrimination against his Han subjects and placed them in a position of subservience to the Manchu. These actions had made them unwilling to join the ranks of the bureaucracy or the army and even prompted a number of peasant rebellions.

Hong Taji reversed these policies, incorporating Han men into the military. He also adopted many elements of the Confucian bureaucracy which helped keep the nascent empire’s wheels  spinning.

Xuanye, known as the Kangxi Emperor, was another master of uniting a wide array of interests in the Qing cause. For example, he saw Jesuit missionaries as valuable sources of military, mathematical, cartographic, and astronomical knowledge and employed them in his court. Despite resistance from Confucian traditionalists, he knew that knowing more about how the wider world operated would make China stronger.

The Kangxi Emperor was a wise ruler who enlisted the help of Jesuit missionaries to expand Qing understanding of the outside world.

The collapse

The reasons behind the Qing dynasty’s ultimate disintegration are manifold. However, they can be summarized as: economic mismanagement, foreign predation, elite disconnect, and consequent rebellion.

The Taiping Rebellion

The outbreak of the Taiping Rebellion in the mid-19th century was the first sign that the foundations of the Qing empire were beginning to crack. This was also the first time that anti-Manchu sentiment was weaponized at scale.

The rebellion was led by the young and charismatic Hong Xiuquan. He claimed to be the brother of Jesus Christ and to have received visions from God directing him to build a utopian society devoid of the daily torments of peasant life. The society he believed he had been tasked with establishing was known as the ‘Kingdom of Heavenly Peace.’ Seduced by his promises of a better life, millions of peasants flocked to his yellow, dragon-emblazoned banner.

In crushing the Kingdom of Heavenly Peace, the Qing were pitiless.

The chaos of the era makes exact records difficult to come by, but it is likely (when considered in relation to world population at the time) that the Taiping Rebellion was the bloodiest war in world history. From 1850 to 1864, between 20 and 30 million people lost their lives. A melange of natural disasters and brutality on the part of Qing generals turned large swathes of China into an uninhabitable wasteland.

By the end of the 14-year war, Qing forces had regained control of the empire—but at a terrible cost: millions dead, thousands of hectares of farmland destroyed, and China’s international standing permanently tainted by having been forced to call on the military support of France and the United Kingdom.

The Taiping Rebellion may have been the bloodiest war in world history.

The First Sino-Japanese War

The First Sino-Japanese War (1894-1895) was a highwater mark in the repeated humiliations of China in the face of foreign armies. For millennia, China had overshadowed Japan and jealously guarded its position of centrality in Asia using the tributary system.

By the end of the nineteenth century, however, Japan had modernized its military and economy and was eager to flex its newfound muscle. After years of diplomatic slights, Japan was now prepared to jostle openly with China for control of territory, namely the Korean peninsula and Taiwan.

In a mere eight months, Japan had achieved all of its military objectives. Despite their new fangled training and attempted modernization (part of what is known as the ‘Tongzhi Restoration’), China’s armies had nonetheless performed poorly on the battlefield. The blow to Chinese prestige was swift and severe.

The First Sino-Japanese war was further proof to the other hungry colonial powers (such as France, the UK, and Germany) that when push came to shove, China could no longer offer real resistance to their intrusions, commercial or otherwise.

The loss of the First Sino-Japanese War was a major blow to Qing prestige.

The Boxer Rebellion

What became known as the Boxer Rebellion hammered the final nail into the already decaying coffin of the Qing empire.

Named “Boxers” by the Christian missionaries who observed them training in martial arts, the Righteous and Harmonious Fists (义和拳 Yìhéquán), were a secret society that originated in the Shandong region. Years of severe drought and economic malaise had created a huge surplus population of unemployed youths. This was the main recruitment base for the Boxers.

Their central tenets were a commitment to purging China of foreigners and Christianity. The Rebellion kicked off in earnest in 1900. A force of between 50 and 100 thousand boxers marched on Beijing, intent on besieging the foreign quarter and expelling or executing the foreigners.

The Qing Empress Dowager Cixi, caught between encroaching western forces on the one side and tens of thousands of enraged Boxer militia members on the other, sided with the Boxers and formally declared war on the foreigners.

The foreign powers used the defense of their besieged envoys and merchants as a pretext to invade China. A 20,000 strong military coalition called the Eight-Nation Alliance consisting of American, Austro-Hungarian, British, French, German, Italian, Japanese, and Russian forces crushed the Boxers and entered the capital.

The Empress Dowager fled the capital for Xi’an, but eventually she was forced to sign the Boxer Protocol, a document that authorized the permanent placement of foreign troops in Beijing, the execution of government officials who had given aid to the Boxers, and the payment of crippling reparations.

Following the signing of the Boxer Protocol, the Qing dynasty would survive only another 10 years.

Qing Empress Dowager Cixi made the fateful decision to support the Boxers during the Boxer Rebellion.

The fall

By 1911, the empire had reached its breaking point.

Corruption was rampant and overt. The ossification of Qing elites had created a parasitic class who lacked the ability to adapt to a fast changing world. Decades of economic weakness had undercut the tax base and the burgeoning population that had once been a source of strength now only served to swell the ranks of the rebel groups that proliferated throughout the empire.

The arrival of the technologically superior Western and Japanese powers (who collectively enforced what in China are termed the “Unequal Treaties”) and the unbearable yoke of reparations imposed after the Boxer Rebellion, had created an untenable situation.

Korea, Taiwan and Vietnam had already been wrenched out of the tributary orbit. By the time that Puyi, the last Qing emperor, had come to power, the empire was ripe for collapse.

For years there had been internal calls for reformation and revolution. Qing decadence had created an atmosphere in which Chinese intellectuals were desperate to find a way for China to reclaim its central place in world affairs. Prosperity and an end to the repeated humiliations that China had suffered at the hands of foreign powers motivated them to act.

Foremost among these figures was Sun Yat-sen, the father of modern China. Statesman, physician, political philosopher, Sun Yat-sen was a tireless campaigner for an independent, powerful, and wealthy China, and he believed that a republican form of government would best serve these goals. By rallying to his cause an ideologically diverse band of followers he would, after a lifetime of toil, eventually succeed in founding the Republic of China.

After years of violent contestation, a wave of rebellions swept the empire. With no other choice left, the child emperor Puyi was forced to abdicate, bringing China’s imperial system to an abrupt end. With the departure of Puyi, the Qing empire died and the Republic of China was born.

The Republic of China came into being after the Qing collapsed in the wake of armed rebellion.

Remembering the Qing today

The legacy of China’s last imperial dynasty remains a point of contention to this day.

One major long-term effect of Qing domination was a nascent sense of nationalism among the Han Chinese. During the waning years of the Qing empire, anti-Manchu sentiment served as a powerful motivation for those who wished to resist or reform the regime. Emphasizing the Manchu (and subsequently foreign) nature of the Qing imperial family and highlighting the Han origins of the majority of the Chinese population was a powerful way to mobilize people against the Qing rulers.

However, some scholars have taken another approach to Qing history in recent years. Instead of viewing the Qing as foreign and alien to China, there has been a push to underline the achievements of this period of Chinese history and take pride in this time when (particularly during the High Qing era) China was a dominant and unvanquished force in Asia and the world.

Ultimately, the Qing dynasty’s wealth of cultural achievements, its dramatic ups and downs, and the sheer length of time that it ruled its vast empire means that it has the capacity to be interpreted and reinterpreted in myriad ways.

For better or worse, the legacy of the Qing dynasty continues to influence China to this day.

Qing dynasty vocabulary

HànzìPīnyīnDefinition
明朝Míngcháothe Ming dynasty
元朝Yuáncháothe Yuan dynasty
běinorth, northern
jīngcapital
晋朝Jìncháothe Jin dynasty
清朝Qīngcháothe Qing Dynasty
康雍乾盛世Kāng Yōng Qián ShèngshìHigh Qing era; Prosperous Age of Kangxi, Yongzheng and Qianlong
册封体制(cèfēng tǐzhì)the tributary system
皇帝huángdìemperor
义和拳YìhéquánThe Righteous and Harmonious Fists; the Boxers

One-on-One Chinese Lessons

One-on-One Chinese Lessons

Continue Exploring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram