华文学习资源

Chinese Graded Readers 兴趣阅读

HSK 1 | 我爸爸喜欢喝茶
我爸爸是一名医生,今年,他 60 岁了。 他不喜欢喝水,但他喜欢喝茶。 天热的时候喝茶,天冷的时候喝茶。
HSK 1 | 我家的狗
我家有一只三岁大的狗,名叫赖斯。 6 年 2018 月 XNUMX 日星期一下午,我和妈妈在一家商店前看到了赖斯。 那天天气很热,他看起来像……
HSK 2 | 我的巴士司机,刘先生
每天坐公交车上学,总能见到刘老师。 刘先生是我的公交车司机。 今年,他50岁了,脸大,眼睛小,声音洪亮。 今天,他……
HSK 2 | 我的中国寄宿家庭
经过漫长的飞行,我终于到达了机场。 当我开始寻找我的中国寄宿家庭时,我感到很累,也有点紧张。 我不知道会发生什么。
HSK 3 | 从华南到华北
那是一个周五的晚上,王嘉莉感到不舒服和焦虑。 她最近搬到北京工作,她的同事邀请她参加一个聚会。 可她谁都不认识!
HSK 3 | 我的邻居小夏
我第一次见到我的邻居小夏是在一个炎热的夏日。 虽然我们公寓楼的走廊里挤满了人,但我还是注意到了他,因为他又高又瘦。 那是个…
继续语言学习之旅

学中文 学中文

欢迎来到未来:2022年寻找合适的在线中文教师
幸运的是,对于全世界的汉语学习者来说,位置不再是获得有用语言练习的障碍。 无论你身在何处,你的语言能力都能突飞猛进(tūfēiměngjìn,突飞猛进)! 您所需要的只是正确的在线……
没有肉,没问题:如何在中国以素食者的身份生存
作为一名素食者,了解在中国要寻找什么以及如何点餐对于获得顺畅的旅行体验至关重要。 继续阅读 CLI 的素食指南,专为您的盛宴而设计! 作为一个素食者,我能活下来吗?
普通话和粤语有什么区别?
想知道普通话和粤语的区别吗? 试图决定学习哪一个? 继续阅读以回答这些问题以及更多问题! 普通话与粤语:有什么区别? 乍一看,粤语(粤语Yuèyǔ或广东话Guǎngdōnghuà)和普通话……
我如何准备中文工作面试?
什么是风水? 在本文中,我们将了解风水的原理、它的历史及其在现代中国文化中的作用。 什么是风水? “风水”这个词是…
你如何用中文谈论天气?
天气几乎可以影响日常生活的方方面面,与各种气象事件的分享经验是常见的话题。 阅读本文以发现您需要谈论的所有词汇和语法...
中国家谱,解释
中国是地球上最以家庭为中心的社会之一。 这种对家庭重要性的信念清楚地反映在中文中,其中包含根据家庭成员的年龄、性别和其他...
继续语言学习之旅

HSK汉语水平考试

新修订的HSK(2022):你需要知道的
HSK考试是全球汉语学习者的重要标杆,即将迎来十多年来的首次重大更新。 阅读这篇文章,了解一切……
如何通过HSK 6:掌握考试的有效策略
HSK 6 是汉语水平考试(Hànyǔ Shuǐpíng Kǎoshì)系列汉语水平考试中的最高级别。 众所周知,考试非常棘手且需要集中准备,对于任何想证明...
HSK简介
如果你上过中文课,你可能已经听说过 HSK。 但究竟什么是HSK? 在本文中,我们将带您了解这个流行的汉语水平考试的历史,帮助您决定这是否……
如何通过HSK 4:掌握考试的有效策略
是时候通过HSK 4了! 您是否正在计划通过 HSK 4 的策略? 也许您需要 HSK 4 分来向潜在雇主展示您的中文水平,为您的中国工作签证申请加分,或者获得……

探索

中国文化 中国文化

中国时区:时代在变
中国从东到西跨越 3,250 多英里(5,250 公里),与 14 个国家接壤。 那么,您可能想知道,中国怎么可能只有一个官方时区。 使困惑? 继续阅读! 到底几点了?...
红包:中国红包的人、方式和内容
红包在中国无处不在——甚至在亚洲的大部分地区! 但是这些塞满钱的小红包究竟是干什么用的,又是什么意思呢? 不要害怕,CLI 就在这里。 在本文中,我们将为您提供一个概要……
在中国工作:在中国工作的综合指南
考虑在中国建立职业生涯? 有很多令人信服的理由说明在中国工作可能是您做过的最明智的决定之一。 在制作之前还有很多重要的因素需要考虑……
从古至今的中国文学
你读了多少中国小说? 如果答案仍然没有,那你就请客了! 探索精彩纷呈的中国文学世界不仅乐趣无穷; 这也是扩展您对……的知识的理想方式
中国武术的谁,什么和为什么
中国武术可以说是中国最受欢迎和最成功的文化输出之一。 尽管它们广泛而持久地流行,但大多数人对中国武术的了解是有限的。 加入我们,探索背后的历史和文化……
中国社会:对比研究
中国社会通常被认为是有点同质的,但实际上它是非常多样化的。 古往今来,城乡、南北差异甚大,还有……
选购

中国十二生肖

与兔年在月光下共舞
本文探讨了十二生肖周期中的第四年:兔年。 我们邀请您进入并发现这个象征优雅、和平和幸运的重要星座。 什么是…
驯服虎年
老虎是凶猛、勇敢和智慧的古老跨文化象征,在中国传统神话和文化中占有独特的地位。 加入我们,踏上一段曲折的旅程,进入这个充满传奇和幸运的占星世界,然后到达……
龙年:完整指南
龙年……就连名字都散发着某种神秘感。 龙是中国民间传说中的神话生物,是中国十二生肖中代表的12种动物之一。 加入我们,探索……的根源
您的猴年指南
十二生肖及其十二生肖是中国传统文化的重要组成部分。 即使你自己不是在猴年出生的,你很有可能至少认识一个人。...
了解十二生肖:狗年
在中国文化中,每个农历年都与代表星座的动物有关。 狗以忠诚和诚实着称,在中国十二生肖循环周期中与 11 年有关。 继续阅读以了解…
您的牛年指南(2021)
根据十二生肖,每年都有一种动物与之相关。 总共有 12 种不同的生肖动物,牛年是这 12 年轮换中的第二个动物。 中国人认为……
选购

汉字 汉字

100个最常见的汉字
你有没有想过最常见的汉字是什么? 在大约 50,000 个独立字符的语言中,掌握最常用的汉字——并了解它们的出现顺序——将使您在语言伟大的道路上受益。 无论…
汉语词源与汉字的起源
中文词源实际上比乍看起来更容易掌握。 学习汉字的起源可以说是进一步掌握这门语言的最佳途径之一。 加入我们,了解……的含义
六种汉字
乍一看,汉字似乎是一堆随机和混乱的符号。 但是你知道吗,实际上有六种不同类型的汉字是按照一套细致的规则形成和使用的……
中国笔顺的基本原理
很多人常常对汉字着迷和着迷。 乍一看,字符可能看起来像随意绘制的奇异象形图。 但是你知道汉字都由不同的笔顺组成,并遵循特定的……
我实际上需要知道多少个汉字?
如果您正在学习中文或计划学习并想知道需要学习多少个汉字,这里有一些数字可以让您了解您的目标应该是什么。 2013年,中国政府发布了...
你怎么打汉字?
鉴于汉语(汉语,hànyǔ)包含超过 3,000 个日常使用的汉字,您可能想知道说中文的人是如何以数字方式输入和使用该语言的。您可能已经注意到,在上一段中,这个词……
深入了解桂林的生活

CLI 学生博客 学生博客

CLI 视角:山脉和米芬
在 2021 年 XNUMX 月的 CLI Perspectives 一期中,沉浸式项目学生伊莎贝尔·弗洛伊德 (Isabel Floyd) 带我们踏上了从上海的摩天大楼到中国桂林的舒适生活的教育之旅。 Of Mountains and Mifen 作者:Isabel Floyd,CLI Immersion……
学生聚焦:Daniel Del Bosque
桂林有很多好吃的地方,但我去过的最多的地方是文化步行街的兰州拉面馆(兰州在中国西部,它的美食......
学生聚焦:哈里·马蒂森
在过去的 4 年里,我每年夏天都学习了 7 周的普通话。 高中时,我有一位老师曾在哈佛师从埃德温·赖绍尔 (Edwin Reischauer),向我们介绍了孔子、孟子和老子……
CLI 视角:从中国到美国再返回
八岁从中国被收养,带着新家人搬到美国后,我忘记了我所有的中文。 你可能想知道这怎么可能,但是沉浸在一个新的语言环境中,...
玩笑与篮球:我的汉语会话故事
本周的 CLI 观点由 Avi Patchava 为您带来,他是 CLI 暑期沉浸式课程的学生之一。 Avi 在 CLI 完成了为期六周的强化中文沉浸式学习,并惊讶于他...
量身定制的学习:CLI 学生适合
你有没有想过你的衣服是在哪里生产的? 您可能已经注意到衣服上的标签经常写着“中国制造”。 虽然许多西方人都认为工业中国在大工厂生产大量服装,但……
选购

中国传统节日

什么是中国劳动节 (Láodòngjié),如何庆祝?
你有没有想过中国是如何庆祝劳动节的,或者想更多地了解中国工作文化的现代压力? 在本文中,我们探讨了这个国庆节的常见庆祝活动,并探索了该州……
什么是国际妇女节,在中国是如何庆祝的?
顾名思义,国际妇女节是全球许多国家庆祝的国际节日。 在中国,这个节日有其特殊的意义,并与自己的一套传统联系在一起。 继续阅读……
什么是中国冬至节(冬至),它是如何庆祝的?
北半球每年 20 月 22 日至 20 日和南半球 22 月 XNUMX 日至 XNUMX 日之间的冬至,在几千年来一直是人类社会中非常有意义的重复自然事件。 在本文中,我们将探讨……的起源。
什么是中国夏至(夏至),它是如何庆祝的?
中国的夏至假期,你知道多少? 在本文中,我们探讨了中国的夏至传统和当今中国常见的庆祝习俗。 什么是中国夏至? 中国的夏至(夏至 Xiàzhì)是指……
中国的中秋节:庆祝家人、朋友和即将到来的收获
中秋节是中国最重要的节日之一,受到世界各地华人和越南人的认可和庆祝。 该节日于农历八月十五日举行。...
谢谢老师:在中国庆祝教师节
教师节是表彰和感谢老师们一年来辛勤付出的日子。 在中国,这个节日是每年的 10 月 XNUMX 日,包括通过赠送礼物和……来庆祝教师的贡献。
提示和见解

在中国旅游 环游中国

杭州旅游指南:主要景点、历史和旅游小贴士
杭州位于浙江省,是世界著名的旅游胜地,拥有中国最令人印象深刻的历史博物馆和世界遗产。 杭州是科技巨头阿里巴巴的所在地,游客可以品尝到最好的中国菜,了解当地...
上海外滩旅游指南:看什么、做什么和知道什么
外滩 - 上海著名的海滨长廊 - 是前往中国最具活力的大都市的游客的必游之地。 游览外滩是一次难忘的经历,是了解世界第三大城市的历史和现代崛起的窗口。 继续阅读……
乌镇水镇旅游指南:中国乌镇内幕
乌镇水镇(乌镇Wūzhèn)因其历史悠久的运河而被称为东方威尼斯,是一个令人惊叹的中国旅游目的地,以其独特的中国建筑杰作、风景秀丽的河流、丰富多彩的节日和令人垂涎的当地美食而闻名。 有那么…
COVID-19更新
由于 COVID-19 大流行造成的中断,许多学生可能会发现他们的学习计划受到影响。 尽管 CLI 目前已开放且中国的局势已趋于稳定,但其他国家/地区可能正在经历激增。 为了帮助学生了解他们的…
北京颐和园:必备旅游指南
北京。 大多数人一想到这座城市,就会立刻想到紫禁城或天安门广场。 虽然这些地方当然值得您花时间,但除非您还参观了知名度稍低的夏季……否则您的旅行将是不完整的。
苏州旅游指南:苏州运河、街道和美食之旅
“运河之城”、“中国威尼斯”、“花园世界……”,而这一切距离上海仅25分钟火车车程? 欢迎来到这个最具大气魅力的中国城市:苏州! 深入参观必看的花园和宝塔,找出...
发现

桂林桂林

发现龙脊:龙胜梯田指南
你可能听说过安徽的黄山和湖南的石柱,但是广西的龙胜梯田呢? 龙胜龙脊梯田位于桂林东北部,是中国最...
桂林七星公园:你需要知道的一切
七星公园占地近 300 英亩,是探索桂林自然景观和独特文化的理想场所。 这个城市公园拥有一系列可徒步旅行的喀斯特山脉、帝国时代的文物和空灵的石灰岩……
桂林象鼻山指南
CLI的家乡桂林拥有中国最壮观的一些风景名胜,象鼻山在其中名列前茅。 这座迷人的山丘坐落在漓江畔,值得您...
广西师范大学:留学生指南
广西师范大学 (GXNU) 位于美丽的桂林市,是中国领先的研究型大学,学生总数约为 30,000 人。 除了培养出数以千计的中国优秀本科生和...
桂林历史简述
中国以其悠久而复杂的历史而闻名。 从一个城市或一个地区的角度审视这段历史,不仅可以让人更容易了解它,还可以提供对中国整体发展的宝贵洞察。 桂林…
桂林终极内幕指南(2022)
桂林依偎在漓江两岸,散布着数以万计的喀斯特山峰,充斥着华南蓬勃发展的少数民族的艺术、风俗和歌曲,是一个与众不同的目的地。 读…
提示和见解

在线学习汉语 在线学汉语

在 Zoom 上学习中文
现在是二十一世纪,在线学习的时代已经到来。 借助 Zoom 和类似的视频会议平台,您可以比以往任何时候都更轻松地从世界任何地方推进教育。 在其他科目中,外语,尤其是中文,是……
在线学习中文的 8 大方法
虽然很理想,但在中国学习中文并不总是可能的。 虽然完全沉浸式中文是最好的方式,但您可以在线学习多少中文,这令人惊讶。 互联网连接我们! 以下是 CLI 的前 8 种方法……
学习普通话的前 5 个 YouTube 频道
任何在 YouTube 上搜索过“学习普通话”的人都可能会同意,搜索结果的数量之多令人眼花缭乱。 我们有一个好消息要告诉你:可以在 YouTube 上学习中文了! 少数渠道始终如一地提供...
最值得关注的 10 个微信账户
微信公众号值得您使用。 我们列出了我们最喜欢的微信官方帐号,并简要说明了您对每个帐号的期望。 我们还添加了快速“如何关注微信官方...
悠悠中文简述(2022)
您听说过流行的在线学习普通话平台 Yoyo Chinese 吗? Yoyo 中文课程由母语为中文的专家教师 Yangyang Cheng 于 2012 年创立,利用视频、抽认卡和广泛的...
什么是斯克里特?
Skritter 是一种全新的、创造性的掌握汉字的方法。 如果您不是当前用户,请按照以下步骤立即上钩——相信我们,您的中文技能会感谢您的。 因为每个平台都有自己的学习模式,...
桂林市喜爱中文培训学校

联系我们

学生与小男孩在紫色沙发上与当地朋友聊天,并在背景中面对布告栏教学
在中国学中文
在 CLI,我们一直致力于帮助学生发现中国和学习中文。 请随时与我们联系,不分昼夜,我们将在两个工作日内回复您的询问。

CHINESE LANGUAGE AND CULTURE LEARNING RESOURCES

Chinese Graded Readers 分级阅读

HSK 1 | My Dad Loves Drinking Tea
My dad is a doctor and this year, he’s 60 years old. He doesn’t like drinking water, but he loves drinking tea. He drinks tea when the weather is hot and he drinks tea when the weather is cold.
HSK 1 | My Family's Dog
My family has a three-year-old dog named Rice. In the afternoon on Monday, August 6, 2018, my mom and I caught sight of Rice in front of a shop. The weather was quite hot that day and he looked like…
HSK 2 | My Bus Driver, Mr. Liu
Every day when I take the bus to school, I always see Mr. Liu. Mr. Liu is my bus driver. This year, he’s 50 years old and he has a big face, small eyes and a loud voice. Today, he…
HSK 3 | My Neighbor Little Xia
The first time I ever saw my neighbor, Little Xia, was on a hot summer day. Although the hallway of our apartment building was full of people, I noticed him because he was so tall and skinny. It was a…
HSK 4 | China’s Ethnic Minorities: The Bai and the Naxi People
There are 56 ethnic groups in China. Aside from the Han, all of the other 55 officially recognized groups are considered ethnic minority groups. With the exception of the Hui, who all speak Mandarin, the members…
HSK 4 | The Origin of the 12 Chinese Zodiac Animals
The 12 animals of the Chinese zodiac are the rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, ram, monkey, rooster, dog and pig. Each zodiac animal has its own personality and is associated with certain characteristics. For example, the rat represents…
CONTINUE THE LANGUAGE LEARNING JOURNEY

Learn Chinese 学中文

Welcome to the Future: Finding the Right Online Chinese Teacher in 2021
Luckily for Chinese language learners worldwide, geographic location is no longer an obstacle to gaining useful language practice. No matter your physical location, your language skills can still 突飞猛进 (tūfēiměngjìn, improve by leaps and bounds)! All you need is the…
No Meat, No Problem: How to Survive as a Vegetarian in China
Knowing what to look for and how to order meals as a vegetarian in China is crucial for a deliciously smooth travel experience. Read on for CLI’s veggie-friendly guidebook, designed for your feasting pleasure! Can I survive as a vegetarian…
What’s the Difference Between Mandarin and Cantonese?
Curious about the difference between Mandarin and Cantonese? Trying to decide which one to learn? Read on to answer these questions and more!  Mandarin vs Cantonese: What's the Difference? At first glance, Cantonese (粤语 Yuèyǔ or 广东话 Guǎngdōnghuà) and Mandarin…
How do I prepare for a job interview in Chinese?
What is feng shui? In this article, we are going to learn about the principles of feng shui, its history and its role in modern Chinese culture. What is feng shui? The word “feng shui” is a combination of the…
How do you talk about the weather in Chinese?
The weather has the power to impact almost every aspect of daily life and shared experiences with various meteorological events are common topics of conversation. Read this article to discover all of the vocabulary and grammar you need to talk...
The Chinese Family Tree, Explained
China is one of the most family-centric societies on earth. This belief in the importance of family is clearly reflected in the Chinese language, which contains diverse terms of address for family members depending on their age, gender, and other…
CONTINUE THE LANGUAGE LEARNING JOURNEY

The HSK 汉语水平考试

The Newly Revised HSK (2021): What You Need to Know
The HSK exam is an important benchmark for Chinese language learners around the world and it’s about to undergo major updates for the first time in over a decade. Read this article to learn everything...
How to Pass HSK 6: Efficient Strategies for Mastering the Exam
The HSK 6 is the highest level in the series of Chinese proficiency tests known as the 汉语水平考试 (Hànyǔ Shuǐpíng Kǎoshì). Notoriously tricky and requiring focused preparation, the exam is a worthwhile challenge for anyone who’d like to prove...
A Brief Introduction to the HSK
If you’ve ever taken a Chinese class, you’ve probably already heard of the HSK. But what is the HSK, exactly? In this article, we’ll take you through the history of this popular Chinese proficiency exam, help you decide whether this…
How to Pass HSK 4: Efficient Strategies for Mastering the Exam
Are you wondering how on earth you will pass HSK 4? Perhaps you need an HSK 4 score to demonstrate your Chinese level to prospective employers, add points to your Chinese work visa application, or gain entry into an academic…

Explore

Chinese Culture 中国文化

Work in China: A Comprehensive Guide to Working in the Middle Kingdom
Thinking about building a career in China? There are tons of compelling reasons why working in the Middle Kingdom might be one of the wisest decisions you ever make. There are also plenty of important factors to consider before making…
Chinese Literature from Ancient Times to the Present Day
How many Chinese novels have you read? If the answer is still none, you’re in for a treat! Exploring the exciting world of Chinese literature is not only great fun; it’s also an ideal way to expand your knowledge of…
The Who, What and Why of Chinese Martial Arts
Chinese martial arts are arguably some of China’s most popular and successful cultural exports. Despite their widespread and enduring popularity, most people’s understanding of the Chinese martial arts is limited. Join us as we explore the history and culture behind…
Chinese Society: A Study in Contrasts
Chinese society is often thought of as being somewhat homogenous, but in reality it’s actually quite diverse. From ancient times to the present day, there have been big differences between urban and rural and northern and southern China, as well…
Religion in Ancient China: A Melting Pot of Beliefs
Most people have a basic understanding of the role that religions and belief systems like Buddhism, Taoism and Confucianism played in ancient China. What’s less well-known is the fact that, as a major trading power for much of its history,…
What is Feng Shui: A Brief Guide
What is feng shui? In this article, we are going to learn about the principles of feng shui, its history and its role in modern Chinese culture. What is feng shui? The word “feng shui” is a combination of the…
EXPLORE

The Chinese Zodiac 中国十二生肖

Taming the Year of the Tiger
An ancient, cross-cultural symbol of ferocity, bravery, and intelligence, the tiger occupies a unique position in traditional Chinese mythology and culture. The rich cultural symbolism associated with this animal has been passed on to its namesake in the Chinese zodiac.…
Year of the Dragon: The Complete Guide
The Year of the Dragon... even the name exudes a certain mystique. Dragons, the mythological creatures of Chinese folklore, are one of the 12 types of animal represented in the Chinese zodiac. Join us as we explore the roots of…
Your Guide to the Year of the Monkey
The Chinese zodiac and its 12 associated zodiac animals are an important aspect of Chinese traditional culture. Even if you weren’t born in the Year of the Monkey yourself, chances are that you know at least one person who was.…
Understanding the Chinese Zodiac: Year of the Dog
In traditional Chinese culture, each lunar year is associated with an animal that represents an astrological sign. Known for being loyal and honest, the dog is associated with year 11 in the cyclic 12-year Chinese zodiac calendar. Read on to…
Your Guide to the Year of the Ox (2021)
According to the Chinese zodiac, every year has an animal associated with it. There are 12 different zodiac animals in total, and the Year of the Ox is the second animal in this 12-year rotation. People in China believe that…
What is the Chinese Calendar?
Modern China, like the vast majority of countries in the world, utilizes the Gregorian calendar—our standard solar-based calendar—as its primary means of tracking time throughout the year. That means January 1 in Paris is also January 1 in Beijing. Yet…
EXPLORE

Chinese Characters 汉字

Chinese Etymology and the Origins of Chinese Characters
Chinese etymology is actually easier to grasp than it might first appear. Learning the origins of Chinese characters is arguably one of the best ways to gain further mastery of the language. Join us as we tackle the meaning of…
The Six Types of Chinese Characters
At first glance, Chinese characters can seem like a bunch of random and confusing symbols. But did you know there are actually six distinct types of Chinese characters which are formed and used according to a meticulous set of rules…
The 100 Most Common Chinese Characters
Have you ever wondered what the most common Chinese characters are? In a language of approximately 50,000 individual characters, mastering the most commonly used Chinese characters—and knowing their order of frequency—will benefit you along your path to language greatness. Whether…
The Fundamentals of Chinese Stroke Order
Many people are often fascinated and attracted by Chinese characters. At first glance, characters may look like bizarre pictograms, randomly drawn at will. But did you know that Chinese characters all consist of different stroke orders and follow a specific…
How Many Chinese Characters Do I Actually Need to Know?
​If you are studying Chinese or planning to and wondering how many characters you need to learn, here are some numbers that will give you an idea of what your goals should be. In 2013, the Chinese government published a…
How do you type Chinese characters?
Given that the Chinese language (汉语, hànyǔ) contains over 3,000 Chinese characters in daily use, you might wonder how Chinese speakers are able to type and use the language digitally.You may have noticed that in the above paragraph, the word…
GAIN INSIGHT INTO LIFE IN GUILIN

CLI Student Blog 学生博客

CLI Perspectives: Of Mountains and Mifen
In this July 2021 installment of CLI Perspectives, Immersion Program student Isabel Floyd takes us on an educational journey from the skyscrapers of Shanghai to the comfortable living of Guilin, China. Of Mountains and Mifen By Isabel Floyd, CLI Immersion…
Student Spotlight: Daniel Del Bosque
There are lots of good places to eat in Guilin, but the place I have been to the most is the Lanzhou hand-pulled noodle restaurant on the Cultural Walking Street (Lanzhou is in the west of China and its cuisine…
Student Spotlight: Harry Mattison
I have studied Mandarin every summer for 4 weeks for the last 7 years. As a high school student I had a teacher who had studied with Edwin Reischauer at Harvard and introduced us to Confucius, Mencius and Lao Tze.…
CLI Perspectives: From China to America and back again
After being adopted from China at the age of eight and moving to America with my new family, I forgot all of my Chinese. You might wonder how this is possible, but being immersed into a new language environment, with...
Banter & Basketball: My story to conversational Chinese
This week’s CLI Perspectives is brought to you by Avi Patchava, one of CLI’s summer Immersion Program students. Avi completed six weeks of intensive Chinese language immersion at CLI and was surprised by how much he...
Tailor-made Learning: CLI Students suit up
Have you ever wondered where your clothes were made? You've probably noticed the tags on your clothing often say "Made in China". While many Westerners have an image of industrial China churning out massive quantities of clothing in big factories,…
EXPLORE

Chinese Holidays 中国传统节日

What is the Chinese summer solstice (夏至) and how is it celebrated?
How much do you know about the Chinese summer solstice holiday? In this article, we explore Chinese summer solstice traditions and common celebratory customs in China today.  What is the Chinese summer solstice? The Chinese summer solstice (夏至 Xiàzhì) refers…
China's Mid-Autumn Festival: A Celebration of Family, Friends, and the Coming Harvest
The Mid-Autumn Festival is one of the most important holidays in China and is recognized and celebrated by ethnic Chinese and Vietnamese around the world. The festival is held on the 15th day of the eighth month of the...
Thank You, Teacher: Celebrating Teachers’ Day in China
Teachers’ Day is a day to recognize and thank teachers for their hard work throughout the year. In China, this holiday falls on September 10th each year and involves celebrating the contributions made by teachers by giving them gifts and…
The Ins and Outs of China’s Army Day
Curious about the origins of China’s Army Day? Unsure exactly how this holiday works or what precisely is being celebrated? Eager to learn more about the parades, military bands, speeches, and flag raising events that are held to mark this…
China’s Lantern Festival: What it is and how it’s celebrated
The Lantern Festival (元宵节 or Yuánxiāojié in pinyin) is a Chinese holiday that traditionally marks the end of the Chinese New Year (Spring Festival) celebrations. Chinese people celebrate this holiday by enjoying...
What is Chinese Valentine's Day and how is it celebrated?
Chinese Valentine’s Day (七夕节 Qīxì Jié) is celebrated on the 7th day of the 7th month of the Chinese lunar calendar. Also called Qixi Festival (literally: “Evening of Sevens Festival”), this unique...
TIPS AND INSIGHTS

Traveling in China 环游中国

Wuzhen Water Town Guide
Called the Venice of the East due to its historic canals, Wuzhen Water Town (乌镇 Wūzhèn) is an amazing Chinese travel destination known for its unique Chinese architectural masterpieces, scenic rivers, colorful festivals, rich Chinese culture, and mouthwatering local cuisine.…
CLI Coronavirus Updates
Due to the disruptions caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, many students may find their study plans affected. While CLI is currently open and the situation in China has stabilized, other countries may be experiencing surges. To help students understand their…
Beijing Summer Palace: The Essential Travel Guide
Beijing. When most people think of this city, they immediately think of the Forbidden City or Tiananmen Square. While these places are certainly worth your time, your trip won’t be complete unless you also visit the slightly less well-known Summer…
Suzhou Travel Guide: A Tour of the Canals, Streets, and Eats of Suzhou
"The City of Canals," "the Venice of China," "a World of Gardens...", and all this a mere 25-minute train ride from Shanghai? Welcome to this most atmospherically seductive of Chinese cities: Suzhou! Delve into must-see gardens and pagodas, find out...
A Definitive Travel Guide to All Things Shenyang, China
Shenyang (沈阳 Shěnyáng), formerly known as Mukden, is a city located in northeastern China’s Liaoning Province (辽宁省 Liáoníng Shěng). This bustling Chinese provincial capital with a complex past is a great destination for Qing dynasty history buffs. CLI’s Shenyang Travel…
Your Guide to Taking the Shanghai-Beijing Bullet Train
Shanghai (上海 Shànghǎi) and Beijing (北京 Běijīng) are the two biggest cities in China, and as such, they’re highly connected. Whether you’re visiting for business, to pursue your studies, or just to get to know the country better, knowing how…
DISCOVER

Guilin 桂林

Guilin’s Seven Star Park: Everything You Need to Know
Sprawling across almost 300 acres, Seven Star Park is the perfect spot to discover the natural landscape and distinct culture of Guilin. This urban park is home to an array of hikeable karst mountains, imperial era antiquities, and ethereal limestone…
Guide to Guilin’s Elephant Trunk Hill
CLI’s home city of Guilin boasts some of the most spectacular scenic attractions in China, and Elephant Trunk Hill is ranked high among them. Nestled on the banks of the Li River, this charming hill deserves a place on your…
Guangxi Normal University: A Guide for International Students
Guangxi Normal University (GXNU), located in the beautiful city of Guilin, is a leading research university in China with a total student population of around 30,000. In addition to educating thousands of outstanding Chinese undergraduate and...
A Brief Overview of the History of Guilin
China is well known for its long and complex history. Looking at this history from the perspective of one city or region can not only make it more accessible, but can also provide valuable insight into China's overall development. Guilin…
The Ultimate Insider’s Guide to Guilin (2021)
Nestled along the banks of the Li River, speckled with tens of thousands of individual karst peaks, and bustling with the arts, customs, and songs of southern China’s thriving ethnic minority groups, Guilin is a destination like no other. Read…
Learn About Guilin Rice Noodles
Guilin rice noodles, or 桂林米粉 (Guìlín mǐfěn), is the ultimate dish to try in CLI’s beautiful home city of Guilin. These straightforward yet filling noodles are served in a variety of ways. To enjoy the complete gastronomic experience, you’ll need…
TIPS AND INSIGHTS

Learning Chinese Online 在线学汉语

Learn Chinese on Zoom
It’s the twenty-first century and the era of online learning has arrived. Thanks to Zoom and similar video conferencing platforms, advancing your education from anywhere in the world is easier than ever. Among other subjects, foreign languages, particularly Chinese, are…
Top 8 Ways to Learn Chinese Online
Although ideal, it’s not always possible to learn Chinese in China. While complete Chinese immersion is the best way to go, it’s amazing how much Chinese you can learn online. The internet connects us! Here are CLI’s top 8 methods…
Top 5 YouTube Channels for Studying Mandarin
Anyone who has searched “learn Mandarin” on YouTube might agree that the sheer number of results is overwhelming. We have good news for you: it is possible to learn Chinese on YouTube! A handful of channels consistently deliver...
Top 10 WeChat Accounts To Follow
WeChat Official Accounts are worth your while. We’ve come up with a list of our favorite WeChat official accounts and provided a brief description of what you can expect from each. We've also added quick "how-to follow a WeChat Official…
A Brief Overview of Yoyo Chinese (2021)
Have you heard of Yoyo Chinese, a popular online platform for learning Mandarin? Established in 2012 by native Chinese speaker and expert teacher Yangyang Cheng, the Yoyo Chinese curriculum utilizes videos, flashcards and an extensive range of...
What is Skritter?
Skritter is a fresh, inventive way to master Chinese characters. If you’re not a current user, take the following steps to get hooked up immediately—trust us, your Chinese skills will thank you. Because each platform offers its own study mode,…
THE CHINESE LANGUAGE INSTITUTE

Contact Us

student chatting with local friend on purple couches with young boy and teaching facing a bulletin board in the background
learn chinese in china
At CLI, we’ve dedicated ourselves to helping students discover China and learn Chinese. Please feel free to reach out to us anytime, day or night, and we’ll respond to your inquiry within two work days.