CLI 观点:山与米粉

在 2021 年 XNUMX 月的 CLI 观点,沉浸式项目的学生伊莎贝尔·弗洛伊德带领我们从上海的摩天大楼到中国桂林的舒适生活,进行了一次教育之旅。

山与米粉

伊莎贝尔·弗洛伊德(Isabel Floyd) CLI 沉浸式课程学生

我坐慢车到桂林。 嗯,实际上,那是去桂林的快车,但是从上海乘坐 8 小时的火车,如果您知道它本来可以是 2 小时的飞行,那么感觉会慢很多。 尽管如此,在火车上的 8 个小时给了我很多思考的时间。

我回想去年我已经走了多远,在大流行期间从美国搬到上海,开始新工作并开始学习中文。 我想着我还有多远,以及所有我想用中文说但不能说的事情。 我想知道我在桂林的一个月会是什么样子。 最重要的是,我想到了通过乘坐火车而不是飞机来限制我的碳足迹的我是一个多么好的人。

城市的第一眼

当火车终于到达时,一位友好的司机在车站迎接了我,他手里拿着 CLI 标志。那是六月的一个炎热的日子,我很高兴能跳进她那辆漂亮酷炫的车里。

当我们走向我的寄宿家庭时,我望向窗外,欣赏这座城市。 桂林是我从未见过的其他地方。 我很惊讶地看到城市景观是如何简单地围绕着城市内随处可见的树木覆盖的小山而塑造的。

当我到达寄宿家庭时,寄宿家庭的奶奶老老热情地迎接我并帮助我安顿下来。随着我在桂林的逗留,老老的厨艺和她家温馨的家庭环境成为我的最爱之一我在桂林的部分经历。 我在厨房的餐桌上度过了许多夜晚,在老老的帮助下完成作业,或者和她的孙女朵朵一起唱歌。
一位身穿紫色背包的金发女子坐在山上的岩石上,俯瞰中国桂林的喀斯特山峰

mifen让日常生活更美好

我很快就适应了舒适的日常生活。 每天早上,我都会早早起床,跑到我寄宿家庭附近的小山川山。 我会爬上陡峭的山坡,在几分钟内欣赏这座城市的壮丽景色,有时会用中文与当地人聊天,他们也喜欢以徒步开始新的一天。

回民宿洗完澡后,下一站是我家附近的桂林米粉店。 店主很快就认出了我,会端上二两热气腾腾的米粉,上面裹着香喷喷的芦水,上面放着一些脆脆的炸坚果和几块多汁的肉。 一碗只有 5 块 5 毛,这是我日常生活中美味又实惠的一部分。

阳光明媚的日子里,一位戴着墨镜和粉红色 T 恤的女士在背景为群山的田野中捧着一朵花

语言和文化沉浸 CLI

接下来,我会骑上 Hellobike 共享电动滑板车去 CLI 上课。我喜欢早点到那里,在我最喜欢的教室——云南放松或做作业。

在我每天四小时的一对一课程中,我的老师们努力保持不同类型活动的平衡。 我的目标是在我月底在桂林完成 HSK 3 教材,但这为会话练习、阅读故事书、了解中国文化和食物以及练习如何写字留下了充足的时间。

在桂林期间,我的中文各方面都有很大提高,但我认为最显着的进步是我的听力技巧。 以前,我发现即使是简单的对话也很难听懂。 现在,经过一个月的桂林沉浸和严格的课程,我能够理解我周围无意中听到的许多对话的含义。

晚上下课后,我会花更多时间放松、做作业或参加活动。从周末去阳朔旅行到下午的书法和品茶活动, CLI 安排了很多有趣的活动,让我在桂林度过了一段难忘的时光。虽然我是来学习的,但我发现在桂林的时光也是体验该地区自然风光和文化的绝佳机会。

一位金发女郎在练习中国书法 CLI 位于中国桂林

温馨的告别

当是时候回上海,我很伤心离开桂林,但高兴能回到我的繁华大城市的生活,炫耀我的新中国的技能。

“你的仲文飞长号!” 下次我们共进午餐时,我的一位中国朋友会惊呼。 是的,我已经完成了我来这里的目的,准备回上海了。 只是,在回程中,我搭乘了航班。

四个人坐在五人秋千上,朝背景喀斯特山脉的湖边荡去

30 分钟免费试听课

30 分钟免费试听课

继续探索

在中国学习中文 并加入 CLI 社区!
总部位于风景秀丽的中国桂林, CLI 是中国语言和文化研究的领先中心。

CLI Perspectives: Of Mountains and Mifen

In this July 2021 installment of CLI Perspectives, Immersion Program student Isabel Floyd takes us on an educational journey from the skyscrapers of Shanghai to the comfortable living of Guilin, China.

Of Mountains and Mifen

By Isabel Floyd, CLI Immersion Program student

I took the slow train to Guilin. Well, actually, it was the fast train to Guilin, but an 8-hour train ride from Shanghai feels a lot slower when you know it could have been a 2-hour flight. Still, 8 hours on the train gave me a lot of time to think.

I reflected on how far I’d already come in the last year, moving from the US to Shanghai in the middle of the pandemic, starting a new job and beginning my studies of Chinese. I thought about how far I’d yet to go and of all the things I wanted to be able to talk about in Chinese but couldn’t. I wondered what my month in Guilin would be like. Most of all, I thought about what a good person I was for limiting my carbon footprint by taking a train instead of a flight.

First glimpses of the city

When the train finally arrived, I was greeted at the station by a friendly driver holding a CLI sign. It was a hot June day, and I was grateful to hop into her nice cool car.

As we made our way towards my homestay, I looked out the window and admired the city. Guilin was like no other place I’d ever seen. I was surprised to see how the urban landscape simply molded around the little tree-covered mountains that pop up everywhere inside the city.

When I arrived at my homestay, Lao Lao, the grandmother of my host family, greeted me warmly and helped me get settled in. As my stay in Guilin progressed, Lao Lao’s cooking and the warm family environment of her home became one of my favorite parts of my experience in Guilin. I spent many nights at the kitchen table, working through my homework with Lao Lao’s help, or singing songs with Duo Duo, her granddaughter.
a blonde woman wearing a purple backpack sitting on top of a rock on a mountain overlooking karst peaks in Guilin, China

Daily life is better with mifen

I quickly settled into a comfortable routine. Every morning, I would get up early and go for a run down to Chuan Shan, the hill that was right near my homestay. I’d scramble up the steep hill, and take in the breathtaking views of the city for a few minutes, sometimes chatting in Chinese with local people who also liked to start their day with a hike.

After heading back to my homestay for a shower, my next stop was my neighborhood Guilin Mifen shop. The shop proprietor came to recognize me quickly, and would know to dish out er liang of steaming rice noodles coated in savory lushui and topped with some crunchy fried nuts and a few succulent pieces of meat. At only 5 kuai 5 mao a bowl, this was a delicious AND affordable part of my daily routine.

a woman wearing sunglasses and a pink T-shirt holding a flower in a field with mountains in the background on a sunny day

Linguistic and cultural immersion at CLI

Next, I’d hop on a Hellobike shared electric scooter to scoot over to CLI for my classes. I liked to get there a bit early and relax or do homework in my favorite classroom, Yunnan.

In my four hours of one-on-one lessons a day, my teachers worked to keep a balance of different kinds of activities. My goal was to make it through the HSK 3 textbook by the end of my month in Guilin, but that left plenty of time for conversation practice, reading storybooks, learning about Chinese culture and food, and practicing how to write characters.

I improved a lot in all aspects of my Chinese during my time in Guilin, but I think the most noticeable growth was in my listening skills. Before, I found it very hard to follow even simple conversations. Now, after a month of immersion in Guilin and rigorous lessons, I’m able to pick up the meaning of many conversations I overhear around me.

In the evenings after classes, I’d spend some more time relaxing, doing homework or joining an activity. From weekend trips to Yangshuo to afternoon events like calligraphy and tea tasting, CLI arranged a lot of engaging activities that helped to make my time in Guilin extra-memorable. Though I had come to study, I also found that my time in Guilin served as a great opportunity to experience the nature and culture of the region.

a woman with blonde highlights practicing Chinese calligraphy at CLI in Guilin, China

A fond farewell

When it was time to return to Shanghai, I was sad to leave Guilin but excited to get back to my bustling big-city life and show off my new Chinese skills.

“Ni de Zhongwen feichang hao!” one of my Chinese friends would exclaim the next time we met for lunch. Yes, I had done what I’d come for, and was ready to head back to Shanghai. Only, on the return journey, I took a flight.

a group of four people sitting  on a five-person swing and swinging towards a lake with karst mountains in the background

Free 30-minute Trial Lesson

Free 30-minute Trial Lesson

Continue Exploring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.