中国武术的谁,什么和为什么

中国武术可以说是中国最受欢迎和最成功的文化输出之一。 尽管它们广泛而持久地流行,但大多数人对中国武术的了解是有限的。 加入我们,探索这些古老的自卫形式背后的历史和文化。 

几名身穿灰色服装、腰围黄色围巾的中国僧人在中国传统建筑前练习中国武术

中国武术有哪些?

中国武术是在中国历史上发展了数百年的数百种不同格斗风格的集合。 许多中国武术都融入了与哲学密切相关的哲学概念。 中国宗教 和哲学,尤其是 道教

在中文中,功夫 (gōngfū) 和武术 (wǔshù) 是指武术。 功夫 (gōngfū) 这个词是一个通用术语,可以用来指代任何类型的技能。 它是英文术语“kung fu”的来源。 

武术(wǔshù),英文翻译为wushu,是一个更具描述性的术语,可以直译为“军事艺术”或“武术”。

$26.80
Compiled from Bruce Lee’s notes and essays and originally published in 1975, this iconic volume is one of the seminal martial arts guides of its time. The science and philosophy behind the fighting system Lee pioneered himself—jeet kune do—is explained in detail, depicted through hundreds of Lee’s own illustrations.

Buy from Amazon

We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. 11/16/2021 22:45 pm EST.

起源和历史

武术在中国有着悠久的历史。 顾名思义,武术被认为是作为中国古代士兵徒手格斗的方法而发展起来的。

据传说,武术是在夏朝(公元前 2070 - 1600 年)由黄帝传入中国的。 中国武术最早出现在 春秋志,一部可以追溯到公元前 5 世纪的宫廷编年史。

少林和尚练习中国功夫的古画

第一次提到中国武术可以在公元前 5 世纪的编年史中找到。

中国武术风格分类

今天有 数百种不同的风格 中国武术。 已经提出了各种分类方案来帮助对它们进行分类。

美国大学生在中国与教练一起练武术

内部与外部

中国武术的一种常见分类方法是将其分为外式(外家拳 wàijiāquán)和内式(内家拳 nèijiāquán)。 

外在风格侧重于发展敏捷和体力,而内在风格侧重于操纵 qi (气 qì) 和培养思想和精神。 道教所信奉的许多哲学思想都被内部武术风格的练习者所应用。 

中国武术最流行的内功是太极拳,又称太极拳 Taiji (太极拳Tàijíquán)而与外在风格相关的最著名的风格是 少林功夫 (少林功夫少林功夫)。

自 1669 年以来,内部与外部分类是一种流行的分类方法。 然而,它仍然有些争议,一些专家认为两者实际上没有区别,因为每种风格都包含一些“内部”和“外部”元素的混合。 

一名中国男子向一群试图模仿他的美国学生展示中国武术动作

中国武术的许多不同类型可以分为内功和外功。

北方与南方

对中国武术风格进行分类的另一种常见方法是按地理区域。 中国北方和南方之间存在许多显着差异。 不仅在食物、艺术、建筑和语言方面如此,在武术方面也是如此。 

来自中国北方的武术被称为北派(别帕伊),包括八卦掌、八极拳等知名学派。 北方风格以结合高脚踢和杂技元素而闻名。 南派武术称为南派(nánpài)。 全身运动

$17.95
With detailed anatomical drawings, this book precisely illustrates the inner workings of your body during key martial arts moves. Its color drawings, helpful photos and clear text make it easy to identify the specific muscles you need to train for maximum speed, power and accuracy.

Buy from Amazon

We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. 11/22/2021 17:45 pm EST.

其他分类方案

中国武术还有其他几种分类方法。 其中一些分类类别重叠,因此一种样式可能属于多个类别。 有时使用的其他流行分类方式基于宗教、历史和家庭。

不要与日本武术混淆

对于未经训练的人来说,所有武术可能看起来都一样,无论其原籍国如何。 实际上,存在着无数的差异——无论大小。

柔术是日本最著名的武术之一,起源于奈良时代(约 710-794 年)的战场,并运用了日本其他各种学科的技能和战术。

它的应用是围绕近战而设计的,强调使用匕首或其他小型武器招架和反击长武器,如剑或长矛。

与强调击打和踢腿的中国功夫不同,柔术使用导致投掷和关节锁定的反击。

日本柔术本身经常与巴西柔术混淆。 我们采访了巴西柔术黑带选手托尼·德贝拉克(Tony Debelak) 格雷西柔术极光, 询问差异。

“传统的日本柔术,”托尼解释说,“1925 年传到巴西,特别是里约热内卢。卡洛斯·格雷西和他的兄弟们向日本柔术选手前田江西学习。 Helio Gracie 是 Carlos 兄弟中最小的一个,他是兄弟中最小和最虚弱的一个,而且他的身体状况使他无法立即进行训练。 所以,赫利欧大部分时间都在看他哥哥们的课程。”

托尼继续说道,“故事是这样的:1928 年,卡洛斯上课迟到了,所以他的兄弟赫利奥挺身而出。 但赫里奥从未练习过传统的柔术。 他很快意识到他没有成功执行日本技术的力量,因此他找到了使用杠杆、时间和自然身体动作而不是力量、速度和协调来使这些技术发挥作用的方法。 这种转变成为格雷西柔术的基础,后来传遍了巴西,并获得了巴西柔术的绰号。”

五种有影响的中国武术风格

虽然中国武术有许多不同的风格,但有些比其他的更受欢迎。 查看下面的列表,了解五种最常见和最有影响力的风格。 

1.少林功夫

少林功夫(少林功夫Shàolín Gōngfū) 是中国最受欢迎的武术风格之一。 被认为是“外部风格”, 少林功夫是由僧人发展起来的 少林寺 在河南省。 

少林功夫的特点是动作迅速有力,使用的武器包括长矛,最著名的是法杖。 

少林派已有1,500多年的历史,据信是由中亚佛教僧侣开创的。 其中一位僧人, 达摩,也被认为是创立了 佛教宗派,现代日本禅宗的前身。 

多年来,由于少林寺“武僧”的功绩,少林功夫在中国获得了半神话般的地位。 少林僧侣支持创始成员 皇室在他们成功的武装争夺王位的斗争中取得了成功。 明朝时期,政府还征召少林僧人抗击多国。 海盗团伙 经常袭击中国沿海地区。 

然而,少林僧侣并不总是得到政府的支持。 在清朝,他们的寺院甚至被指控反清活动并被摧毁,后来才重建。 

今天,少林功夫有1,000多种不同的子风格。 日本等其他国家的各种武术流派也声称其起源可以追溯到少林风格。 

少林寺建筑群的两座建筑被树木环绕,点亮了橙色的光芒

河南少林寺是世界著名武术少林功夫的发祥地。

2.咏春拳

咏春(咏春Yǒngchūn)是一种源自少林功夫的中国南方功夫。 它的独特之处在于由两位女性吴梅和严咏春创立。 

咏春拳以强调技术而不是力量而闻名。 这种风格也要求练习者在战斗中保持放松,让他们达到一种“柔软”或灵活性。 这种放松的柔韧性给了咏春拳手一种特殊的力量,可以让他们弯曲而不是折断,就像

相传咏春拳创始人吴梅在少林寺被清军攻破时就住在少林寺。 在袭击中幸存下来,她逃到了云南和四川的边境地区。 在那里,她遇到了一位名叫严咏春的年轻女子,她是豆腐商的女儿。

$15.69
Wing Chun is the most popular form of Chinese Kung Fu in the world today, with over four million practitioners. With 48 full-color illustrations, this guide will fascinate and educate anyone interested in the martial arts, from beginner to master.

Buy from Amazon

We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. 11/16/2021 22:45 pm EST.

 

得知严咏春很快将被迫与当地军阀结婚后,吴梅教她改良版少林功夫,以帮助严咏春抵御他的不情愿。 

这种风格后来被一个名为红船剧团的粤剧团的成员所采用,他们在王朝衰落的年代帮助领导了一场反清的民众起义。 

在同名热门电影中出现的叶问是一位著名的咏春拳风格的现代武术练习者。 他还向他的学生李小龙教授了咏春拳风格,李小龙将继续出演深受喜爱的香港功夫电影,这些电影帮助中国武术闻名世界。 

赤膊上阵的李小龙摆出中国武术姿势,背景是火焰

咏春拳是李小龙学会的第一种武术。

3.八极拳

八极拳是另一种流行的中国武术。 它出现于 18 世纪,最初被称为八字拳,或“耙拳”,因为其标志性地使用部分张开的拳头快速向下打击。 

现在的全称是开门八极拳(kāimén bājíquán),大致可译为“八极开拳”。 这个名字的“开门”或“开门”部分来自于迫使对手分开手臂以打击他们身体的做法。 

八极拳的特点是快速、爆发性的动作,包括肘击和拳头打击,被认为是短距离战斗的理想选择。 

作为一种标志性的中国武术,八极拳影响了中国和其他国家的流行文化。 它经常出现在日本电子游戏以及漫画和动漫中。 八极拳甚至出现在 矩阵真人快打:致命联盟.  

黑客帝国的打斗场景

由演员雨果·维文饰演的史密斯探员在黑客帝国中使用了八极拳技巧。

4.太极拳

太极 太极拳 tàijíquán 是中国武术“内功”中最著名的一种。 虽然它今天最常作为一种冥想、温和的运动形式来练习,但它也起源于武术,最初是作为一种自卫形式发展起来的。 

太极拳有时也被称为“太极拳”。 尽管大多数人认为太极拳是由慢动作组成的,但也有几种风格包含快节奏的元素。 

与许多其他形式的中国武术一样,太极拳与佛教、道教和儒教等中国传统信仰体系密切相关。 

太极拳的中心哲学与道家的阴(阴 yīn)和阳(阳 yáng)概念有关。 在传统的道家形而上学中,阴被认为是一种阴暗、柔和的女性力量,而阳则是一种坚硬、光明的男性力量。 这两种力量共同构成了宇宙,在它们之间寻求平衡很重要。

裁剪照片显示一名太极拳练习者的躯干和上半身穿着白色,背景是绿色的田野,正在做武术姿势

太极拳根植于古老的道家哲学。

在太极拳中,练习者努力保持阴阳力量不断变化,这样两种力量相等的力量就不会相互对抗。 用强硬的力量对抗另一个强硬的力量只会导致僵局。 因此,在太极拳中,刚柔相济,反之亦然。 

太极拳的确切起源尚不清楚,一些历史学家认为它起源于 12 世纪的道士,而其他人则认为它的起源要晚得多。 

今天,太极拳因其许多科学证明的健康益处而闻名于中国和世界各地。 著名的梅奥诊所甚至 推荐太极拳 作为温和减轻压力和焦虑的好方法。 

一位中国武术教练展示太极拳姿势,学生们看着并模仿他

太极拳的现代学生,就像这些 CLI 学生一样,可以从这项古老武术的许多科学证明的健康益处中受益。

5.八卦掌

与太极拳一样,八卦掌被认为是一种“内式”武术。 它的哲学大量借鉴了诸如阴阳之类的道家概念,甚至以道家卦为名,或者 巴古亚

董海川在 19 世纪上半叶通过综合他在中国农村旅行时遇到的道教和佛教修行者的武术技巧而创立了这种风格。 

八卦掌风格最显着的特点是它的循环行走。 练习者在执行与这种风格相关的各种动作时以圆形模式移动,这些动作非常多样化,包括罢工、投掷、踢腿和擒抱动作的混合。 

八卦掌也以使用多种武器而闻名,包括独特的大刀。 有趣的是,据说这种风格在与多个对手作战时特别有效。 

了解中国文化的窗口

由于与中国哲学、宗教和历史的联系,中国武术为了解中国传统文化提供了一个迷人的窗口。

了解中国、中国文化和中国武术的最好方法之一就是亲自体验它们。 我们邀请您 加入我们桂林 通过全面的语言和文化沉浸,亲身体验中国。 

黄昏时分,一个女孩在沙滩上踢功夫的剪影

学习中国武术是深入了解中国文化的好方法。

中国武术词汇

HànzìPīnyīnDefinition
功夫gōngfūkung fu; martial arts; skill
武术wǔshùwushu; martial arts
外家拳wàijiāquánexternal style (of Chinese martial arts)
内家拳nèijiāquáninternal style (of Chinese martial arts)
qi; vital energy
北派běipàinorthern school/style (of Chinese martial arts)
南派nánpàisouthern school/style (of Chinese martial arts)
少林功夫Shàolín GōngfūShaolin Kung Fu
咏春YǒngchūnWing Chun
八极拳BājíquánBajiquan
太极拳TàijíquánTai Chi
yīnyin; a dark, female force
yángyang; a bright, male force
八卦掌BāguàzhǎngBaguazhang

30 分钟免费试听课

30 分钟免费试听课

继续探索

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

The Who, What and Why of Chinese Martial Arts

Chinese martial arts are arguably some of China’s most popular and successful cultural exports. Despite their widespread and enduring popularity, most people’s understanding of the Chinese martial arts is limited. Join us as we explore the history and culture behind these ancient forms of self-defense. 

several Chinese monks in grey garments with yellow scarves around their waists practicing Chinese martial arts in front of a traditional Chinese building

What are the Chinese martial arts?

The Chinese martial arts are a collection of hundreds of different fighting styles that developed over centuries of Chinese history. Many of the Chinese martial arts incorporate philosophical concepts that are intimately connected with Chinese religion and philosophy, especially Taoism

In Chinese, the terms 功夫 (gōngfū) and 武术 (wǔshù) are used to refer to the martial arts. The word 功夫 (gōngfū) is a general term that can be used to refer to any type of skill. It is the source of the English term “kung fu.” 

武术 (wǔshù), rendered in English as wushu, is a more descriptive term that can literally be translated as “military arts” or “martial arts.”

American university student practicing martial arts in China with an instructor

Origins and history

The martial arts have a long history in China. As the name wushu suggests, the martial arts are thought to have developed as methods for hand-to-hand combat used by ancient Chinese soldiers.

According to legend, the martial arts were introduced in China by the Yellow Emperor during the Xia dynasty (2070 - 1600 BCE). The very first mention of Chinese martial arts occurs in the Spring and Autumn Annals, a court chronicle that dates all the way back to the 5th century BCE.

an ancient painting of Shaolin monks practicing Chinese kung fu

The first mention of Chinese martial arts can be found in a chronicle from the 5th century BCE.

Classifying Chinese martial arts styles

Today, there are hundreds of different styles of Chinese martial arts. Various classification schemes have been proposed to help categorize them.

Internal versus external

One common way of classifying Chinese martial arts is by separating them into external styles (外家拳 wàijiāquán) and internal styles (内家拳 nèijiāquán). 

External styles focus on developing agility and physical strength, while internal styles focus on manipulating qi (气 qì) and cultivating the mind and spirit. Many of the philosophical ideas espoused by Taoism are applied by practitioners of internal martial arts styles. 

The most popular internal style of Chinese martial art is Tai Chi, also called Taiji (太极拳 Tàijíquán) while the most famous style associated with the external style is Shaolin Kung Fu (少林功夫 Shàolín Gōngfū).

The internal versus external classification is a popular one that has been used since 1669 CE. It remains somewhat controversial, however, with some experts arguing that there is actually no difference between the two due to the fact that every style includes some mix of “internal” and “external” elements. 

a Chinese man demonstrating a Chinese martial arts move to a group of American students who are trying to imitate him

The many different types of Chinese martial arts can be categorized into internal and external styles.

Northern versus Southern

Another common way to classify Chinese martial arts styles is by geographical region. There are many notable differences between northern and southern China. Not only is this true when it comes to food, the arts, architecture, and language, but it is also true of martial arts. 

Martial arts from northern China are referred to as 北派 (běipài) and include well-known schools such as Baguazhang and Bajiquan. Northern styles are known for incorporating high kicks and acrobatic elements. Southern martial arts styles are called 南派 (nánpài) and place more emphasis on arm and full-body movements. 

Young man in red practicing Chinese martial arts

Baguazhang is a popular northern style Chinese martial art.

Other classification schemes

There are several other ways to classify the Chinese martial arts. Some of these classification categories overlap, so that a single style may belong to more than one category. Other popular classification styles that are sometimes used are based on religion, history and family. 

Five influential Chinese martial arts styles

Although there are a multitude of different styles of Chinese martial arts, some are more popular than others. Check out the list below to learn about five of the most common and influential styles. 

1. Shaolin Kung Fu

Shaolin Kung Fu (少林功夫 Shàolín Gōngfū) is one of the most popular styles of Chinese martial arts. Considered an “external style,” Shaolin Kung Fu was developed by monks at the Shaolin Temple in Henan Province. 

The Shaolin Kung Fu style is distinguished by quick, forceful movements and makes use of weapons including spears and, most famously, staffs. 

The Shaolin style has a history of over 1,500 years and is believed to have been started by Buddhist monks from central Asia. One of these monks, Bodhidharma, is also credited with having founded the Chan school of Buddhism, the precursor to modern Japanese Zen Buddhism. 

Over the years, Shaolin Kung Fu gained semi-mythic status in China as a result of the exploits of Shaolin Temple’s “soldier monks.” The Shaolin monks supported the founding members of the Tang imperial family in their successful armed struggle for the throne. During the Ming dynasty, the government also enlisted Shaolin monks to fight off multinational gangs of pirates that plagued China’s coastal areas with frequent raids. 

Shaolin monks didn’t always enjoy government support, however. During the Qing dynasty, their monastery was even accused of anti-Qing activities and destroyed, only to be rebuilt later on. 

Today, there are over 1,000 different sub-styles of Shaolin Kung Fu. Various schools of martial arts in other countries such as Japan also claim their origins can be traced back to the Shaolin style. 

two buildings of the Shaolin Temple complex surrounded by trees and lit up with an orange glow

Shaolin Temple, in Henan Province, is the birthplace of the world-renowned martial art known as Shaolin Kung Fu.

2. Wing Chun

Wing Chun (咏春 Yǒngchūn) is a southern Chinese kung fu style descended from Shaolin Kung Fu. It has the distinction of having been founded by two women, Ng Mui and Yim Wing-chun. 

The Wing Chun style is known for placing emphasis on technique rather than strength. This style also calls for practitioners to stay relaxed while fighting, allowing them to achieve a kind of “softness” or flexibility. This relaxed flexibility gives Wing Chun fighters a special kind of strength that allows them to bend, not break, just like bamboo

Legend has it that Wing Chun founder Ng Mui was living at Shaolin Temple when it was attacked and destroyed by Qing dynasty forces. Surviving the attack, she escaped to the border area between Yunnan and Sichuan. There, she met a young woman named Yim Wing-chun who was the daughter of a tofu merchant. 

Upon learning that Yim Wing-chun was soon to be forced into marriage with a local warlord, Ng Mui taught her a modified version of Shaolin Kung Fu to help Yim defend herself against his unwanted advances. 

The style was later picked up by members of a Cantonese opera troupe called the Red Boat Opera Group, who helped lead a popular uprising against the Qing in the dynasty’s waning years. 

Ip Man, featured in the eponymous hit film, was a notable modern practitioner of Wing Chun style martial arts. He also taught the Wing Chun style to his student, Bruce Lee, who would go on to act in the beloved Hong Kong kung fu movies that helped make Chinese martial arts famous around the world. 

a shirtless Bruce Lee in a Chinese martial arts pose with flames in the background

Wing Chun was the first martial arts style that Bruce Lee learned.

3. Bajiquan

Bajiquan (八极拳 bājíquán) is another popular Chinese martial art. It emerged in the 18th century and was originally called Baziquan, or “rake fist,” because of its trademark use of swift downward strikes using partially opened fists. 

Its current full name is 开门八极拳 (kāimén bājíquán), which can be roughly translated as “open-door fist of the eight extremes.” The “open-door” or “open-gate” part of this name comes from the practice of forcing one’s opponents arms apart in order to strike their body. 

Bajiquan features rapid, explosive movements including elbow and fist strikes and is considered ideal for short-range combat. 

As an iconic Chinese martial art, Bajiquan has influenced the pop culture of both China and other countries. It is often featured in Japanese video games, as well as in manga and anime. Bajiquan even makes an appearance in The Matrix and Mortal Kombat: Deadly Alliance.  

fight scene from The Matrix

Agent Smith, played by actor Hugo Weaving, makes use of Bajiquan techniques in The Matrix.

4. Tai Chi

Tai Chi (太极拳 tàijíquán) is the most well-known of the “internal” Chinese martial arts styles. While it is most commonly practiced today as a meditative, gentle form of exercise, it also has its roots in the martial arts and was originally developed as a form of self-defense. 

Tai Chi is sometimes referred to as “shadow boxing.” Although most people think of Tai Chi as being made up of slow movements, there are several styles which include faster paced elements. 

Like many other forms of Chinese martial arts, Tai Chi is intimately connected to traditional Chinese belief systems including Buddhism, Taoism and Confucianism. 

Tai Chi’s central philosophy is related to the Taoist concept of yin (阴 yīn) and yang (阳 yáng). In traditional Taoist metaphysics, yin is said to be a dark, soft, female force while yang is a hard, bright, male force. Together, these two forces make up the universe, and it is important to seek a balance between them.

cropped photo showing the torso and upper part of a tai chi practitioner dressed in white doing a martial arts pose with a green field in the background

Tai Chi is rooted in ancient Taoist philosophy.

In Tai Chi, practitioners work to keep the yin and yang forces constantly in flux so that two forces of equal strength are never used against each other. The use of a hard force against another hard force can only result in deadlock. Thus, in Tai Chi, hardness should be met with softness, and vice versa. 

The exact origins of Tai Chi are unclear, with some historians arguing that it originated with a 12th century Taoist monk, while others contending that its origins are much more recent. 

Today, Tai Chi is known both within China and around the world for its many scientifically proven health benefits. The renowned Mayo clinic even recommends Tai Chi as a great way to gently reduce stress and anxiety. 

a Chinese martial arts instructor demonstrating a tai chi pose as students look on and copy him

Modern students of Tai Chi, like these CLI students, can benefit from the many scientifically proven health benefits of this ancient martial art.

5. Baguazhang

Like Tai Chi, Baguazhang (八卦掌 bāguàzhǎng) is considered an “internal style” martial art. Its philosophy draws heavily on Taoist concepts like yin and yang and it even takes its name from the Taoist trigrams, or bagua

Dong Haichuan is credited with founding this style in the first half of the 19th century by synthesizing martial arts techniques that he learned from the Taoist and Buddhist practitioners that he met during his travels in rural China. 

The most distinctive feature of the Baguazhang style is its use of circle walking. Practitioners move in a circular pattern while performing the various moves associated with this style, which are quite diverse and include a mixture of strikes, throws, kicks and grappling moves. 

Baguazhang is also known for its use of a diverse array of weapons including distinctive large broadswords. Interestingly, this style is said to be particularly effective when fighting against multiple opponents. 

A window into Chinese culture

Due to their connections with Chinese philosophy, religion and history, the Chinese martial arts provide a fascinating window into traditional Chinese culture.

One of the best ways to understand China, Chinese culture and the Chinese martial arts is to experience them for yourself. We invite you to join us in Guilin to experience China firsthand through full language and cultural immersion. 

silhouette of a girl doing a kung fu kick on a beach at dusk

Studying the Chinese martial arts is a great way to gain a deeper understanding of Chinese culture.

Chinese martial art vocabulary

HànzìPīnyīnDefinition
功夫gōngfūkung fu; martial arts; skill
武术wǔshùwushu; martial arts
外家拳wàijiāquánexternal style (of Chinese martial arts)
内家拳nèijiāquáninternal style (of Chinese martial arts)
qi; vital energy
北派běipàinorthern school/style (of Chinese martial arts)
南派nánpàisouthern school/style (of Chinese martial arts)
少林功夫Shàolín GōngfūShaolin Kung Fu
咏春YǒngchūnWing Chun
八极拳BājíquánBajiquan
太极拳TàijíquánTai Chi
yīnyin; a dark, female force
yángyang; a bright, male force
八卦掌BāguàzhǎngBaguazhang

Free 30-minute Trial Lesson

Free 30-minute Trial Lesson

Continue Exploring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.