中国拥有世界第二大经济体,中国货币在全球金融交易中扮演着越来越重要的角色。尽管如此,在中国货币问题上,仍然存在着很大的困惑。 甚至连怎么称呼中国货币的问题也让人摸不着头脑。继续阅读,发现中国人民币人民币之间的不同,学会用中英文谈论中国的货币。

 

巾帼不让须眉

中国货币的名称是什么?

您可能听说过中国的货币被称为"人民币,"通常简称为人民币。在中文中。 人民币写为人民币 (rénmínbìpīnyīn),意为"人民的钱"。

然而,令人困惑的是,你也可能听说过中国的钱被称为" "。"(元或 án),通常简称为CNY("人民币")。

中国的货币为什么有两个名称?中国有两种不同的货币吗?什么是""和""的区别?人民币"和"

 

屏保

用来指代中国货币的各种不同名称可能会让新手感到困惑。

 

事实上,这两个词之间没有什么实际区别。 人民币你会经常听到这两个词交替使用。

不过,如果你问一个经济学家,他们会告诉你,这些名词其实有些不同。归根结底是货币和货币单位的区别。

这个词 人民币 在中华人民共和国成立的同一年,即1949年开始使用。这个词 然而,它的历史要久远得多,最初用于指的是 银币近500年前,欧洲商人曾与中国商人进行贸易。

今天的。人民币是中国货币的总称,而。 是该货币单位的名称。理解这个问题的一个方法是想象一个以黄金为货币的国家。当你告诉别人某样东西的价格时,你不可能说"这辆车要10金",你需要某种单位,比如盎司。你需要某种单位,比如盎司。那么你可以说,"这辆车要10盎司黄金"。在这个例子中,黄金是货币,盎司是单位。

一个常用的例子是 例子类似的情况是英国的"英镑"和"英镑"的区别。英国决定使用银作为货币,而不是黄金,今天,他们的货币仍然被称为"英镑"。从技术上讲,你不能说某样东西的价格是"15英镑",然而。相反,你应该说它的价格是"15英镑",或者干脆说"15英镑"。

那么,在中文中,如果说我的早餐花了"15元",在技术上是不正确的。 人民币.”相反,我应该说,它的成本是"15"。 .”

在中国,人们如何称呼自己的钱?

如果你觉得货币和单位之间的区别让人困惑,那么不妨先弄清楚在中国最流行的是哪个钱字,然后用那个字来表示。

但遗憾的是,无论是""也不是""。人民币"在中国被普遍使用。而在中国,大多数人把自己的钱称为" "。kuài”(块).

比如,你去买一个蒸饺当早餐,问多少钱,小贩可能会回答说:"。yī kuài”(一塊),他或她的意思是說,它的成本是一塊。. Kuai其实是一个中国的量词,在很多不同的语境中常用来表示"一块"。

这就是为什么你可能也会听到中国的供应商说某个东西的成本"yī kuài án”一块钱)。由于"án"钱"的意思是"钱",如果按字面意思翻译,"一块钱"就是指你的馒头要"一块钱"。

提及 作为"魁井"在中国,类似于美国人把美元称为"美元"。

一元是一元钱为什么我的钱不写一元?

中国的纸币有1、5、10、20、50、100等面值。如果你已经学会了中文数字的书写,当你检查钞票时,你可能会惊讶地发现,当阿拉伯数字如1和5显示在显著位置时,对应的中文数字如一(yī)和五(wǔ)无迹可寻。

此外,虽然你会看到""的字样。"中文 拼音,你不会看到的字符为 元)的任何地方。

如果你仔细观察一个1 但是,在毛泽东肖像左边中间的"1"字下面,你会看到"壹圆"二字。虽然看起来很不一样,但其实壹圆和壹元是一样的。

(yuán)是元(yuán)的变体,两者发音相同。至于"壹",它只是"壹"的另一种更复杂的形式。yī由于比简单的一(yī)更难改变,所以被中国的银行家们用来作为反欺诈措施。

 

绿色人民币正反面图

中国纸币上用于书写数字的特殊字符是为了帮助防止欺诈。

 

其他面额的中国纸币也用特殊的防伪字符取代了您可能熟悉的常规中国数字字符。你也可能会注意到在中国拿到的某些官方收据上有这些更复杂的数字书写方式。

值得庆幸的是,这些看似复杂的防诈骗数字字的发音都和你可能已经学会的中文数字字一样。请看下面的表格,看看如何像银行家一样写中文数字。

 

数量熟悉的形式复杂形式pīnyīn
1
5
10shí
20二十贰拾èrshí
50五十伍拾wǔshí
100一百壹佰yībǎi

中国还接受现金吗?

学会如何谈论和识别中国货币上的数字是很重要的,但如果你一直在关注有关的新闻。 移动支付的兴起在中国,你可能会想,你是否有必要使用实体的中文? 人民币在国内时,。

如果你不太清楚如何使用中国的移动支付平台,你会很高兴地知道,中国仍然接受现金。不过,必须认识到,虽然实体钞票在中国的流通量仍然很大,但微信支付和支付宝等移动支付方式正变得越来越普遍。

甚至有可能 花一天时间用智能手机代替现金支付一切费用。就连传统湿菜市场的小菜摊主也接受移动支付。

 

一名CLI学生用人民币向桂林街头小贩购买小吃。

虽然在中国仍然可以使用现金支付,但移动支付方式越来越受欢迎。

 

事实上,移动支付已经非常普遍,一些商家手头已经没有足够的小票来找零。有时候,如果顾客想用现金支付,但没有准确的金额,店主和出租车司机就会说找不到零钱,要求顾客改用微信或支付宝支付。

 

 

如果你打算在中国长期停留,建立一个微信支付或支付宝账户,绝对会让你的生活变得更加方便。

然而,如果您只计划在中国停留很短的时间,您应该可以使用主要的信用卡(如Visa卡或万事达卡)在大多数中国的ATM机上提取现金。在大多数情况下,使用国际卡取款时,您需要支付少量费用。

我应该带多少现金来中国?

如果你是第一次来中国旅游,你可能会想是否要带现金。

从法律上讲,当你来中国时,你可以携带2万元人民币、5000美元或等值的其他外币进入中国。由于这个数字有时会发生变化,所以在旅行前一定要确认是否仍然如此。

然而,现实中,你通常不需要带太多现金。中国不接受美元,所以您在旅行中不太可能需要美元。

大城市的大部分主要机场都有货币兑换亭,所以你可以带少量自己的货币,到达后在机场兑换。另外,你也可以在上飞机前在本国兑换货币。 

 

在CLI周年纪念活动中,两名CLI工作人员拿着气球站在背景中主持抽奖活动。

旅行者带入中国的现金数量是有限制的。

 

出行前,最好先熟悉一下当前的 汇率对中国人来说 人民币 并带足够的现金来支付从机场到酒店的出租车费用,以及足够支付在酒店住几晚的费用和酒店押金。

到了酒店安顿好后,就可以出门去ATM机上取更多的现金。

不要把钱都花在一个地方!

在一个新的国家用新的货币支付东西可能会让人兴奋不已,但在消费之前要确保你对自己的货币等值的实际支付金额有一个很好的了解。近年来,中国货币对美元的价值不断提高,中国的东西已经不像以前那么便宜了!

一旦你得到了你的 人民币手中,一定要花点时间研究它,思考它的历史,它的未来,以及所有不同的中英文称呼方式。

What is the Chinese currency called?

China has the world’s second largest economy and Chinese money plays an increasingly important role in global financial transactions. That said, there's still a great deal of confusion when it comes to Chinese currency. Even the question of what to call Chinese money can be puzzling. Read on to discover the different between Chinese renminbi and yuan and learn to talk about China’s currency in both English and Chinese.

a woman's hand holding Chinese renminbi notes

What is the name of the Chinese currency?

You may have heard Chinese currency referred to as “renminbi,” which is usually abbreviated as RMB. In Chinese, renminbi is written 人民币 (rénmínbì in pīnyīn), which means “the people’s money.”

Confusingly, however, it’s possible that you may also have heard Chinese money referred to as “yuan” (元 or yuán), commonly abbreviated as CNY (“Chinese Yuan”).

Why are there two names for Chinese money? Does China have two different currencies? What is the difference between “renminbi” and “yuan?”

a man walking past a screen showing Chinese stock prices in Chinese renminbi

The various different names used to refer to the Chinese currency can be confusing for the uninitiated.

There is, in fact, very little practical difference between the terms renminbi and yuan, and you will often hear these two words used interchangeably.

If you ask an economist, however, they will tell you that these terms are actually somewhat different. It comes down to the difference between currency and units of currency.

The word renminbi came into use the same year the People’s Republic of China was founded, in 1949. The word yuan, however, is much older, and was originally used to refer to the silver coins that European merchants used to trade with Chinese merchants almost 500 years ago.

Today, renminbi is the general name for the Chinese currency, while yuan is the name of a unit of that currency. One way to understand this is to imagine a country that uses gold as its currency. When telling someone how much something costs, you would be unlikely to say “This car costs 10 gold.” You need some sort of unit, such as ounces. Then you could say, “This car costs 10 ounces of gold.” In this example, gold is the currency, and ounce is the unit.

A commonly cited example of a similar situation is the difference between “sterling” and “pounds” in Great Britain. Instead of gold, England decided to use silver as its currency, and today, their currency is still referred to as “sterling.” Technically, you can’t say that something costs “15 sterling,” however. Instead, you should say that it costs “15 pounds sterling” or simply “15 pounds.”

In Chinese, then, it would technically be incorrect to say that my breakfast cost “15 renminbi.” Instead, I should say that it cost “15 yuan.”

How do people in China refer to their money?

If you find the difference between currency and units confusing, it might seem like a good idea to figure out which word for money is most popular in China and use that one.

Unfortunately, however, neither the word “yuan” nor the word “renminbi” is commonly used in China. Instead, most people in China refer to their money as “kuài” (块).

For example, if you go to buy a steamed dumpling for breakfast and ask how much it costs, the vendor might respond, “yī kuài” (一块), by which he or she means that it costs one yuan. Kuai is actually a Chinese measure word which is commonly used in many different contexts to mean “one piece.”

This is why you may also hear vendors in China say that something costs “yī kuài qián” (一块钱). Since “qián” means “money,” if translated literally, “一块钱” means that your steamed bun costs “one piece of money.”

Referring to yuan as “kuai” in China is similar to the way that Americans refer to US dollars as “bucks.”

一元 is “one yuan.” Why doesn’t my money say 一元?

Chinese paper money comes in denominations of one, five, ten, twenty, fifty and one hundred. If you have learned to write numbers in Chinese, you might be surprised when, upon examining your banknotes, you notice that while Arabic numerals such as 1 and 5 are prominently displayed, the corresponding Chinese numbers like 一 () and 五 () are nowhere to be found.

In addition, although you will see the word “yuan” written in Chinese pinyin, you won’t see the character for yuan (元) anywhere.

If you look closely at a 1 yuan banknote, however, you will see the characters 壹圆 (yī yuán) under the “1” in the middle to the left of Mao’s portrait. Although they look quite different, the characters 壹圆 (yī yuán) are actually the same as 一元 (yī yuán).

The character 圆 (yuán) is a variant of 元 (yuán) and the two share the same pronunciation. As for the 壹 (yī),  it is just another, more complicated form of 一 (yī) that is used by bankers in China as an anti-fraud measure since it is harder to alter than the simple 一 (yī).

the front and back of a green Chinese renminbi note

The special characters used to write numbers on Chinese banknotes are meant to help prevent fraud.

The other denominations of Chinese banknotes also replace the regular Chinese number characters with which you may be familiar with special fraud-resistant characters. You may also notice these more complicated ways of writing numbers on certain official receipts that you get in China.

Thankfully, the pronunciation of all these complex-looking fraud-proof number words is the same as the Chinese number words you may already have learned. Check out the table below to see how to write Chinese numbers like a banker:

NumberFamiliar FormComplex Formpīnyīn
1
5
10shí
20二十贰拾èrshí
50五十伍拾wǔshí
100一百壹佰yībǎi

Does China still accept cash?

Learning how to talk about and identify the numbers on China’s money is important, but if you have been following the news about the rise of mobile payments in China, you might wonder if it will even be necessary for you to use physical Chinese renminbi while in the country.

If you aren’t quite sure how to use Chinese mobile payment platforms, you’ll be pleased to know that China does still accept cash. However, it is important to recognize that although physical bills are still very much in circulation in China, mobile payment options such as WeChat Pay and Alipay are becoming more and more common.

It is even possible to spend an entire day paying for everything with a smartphone instead of cash. Even the owners of small vegetable stalls in traditional wet markets accept mobile payments.

a CLI student using Chinese renminbi to buy a snack from a Guilin street vendor

Although it's still possible to pay with cash in China, mobile payment options enjoy growing popularity.

In fact, mobile payments have become so common that some merchants no longer keep enough small bills on hand to make change. Sometimes if a customer tries to pay in cash but does not have the exact amount, shop owners and taxi drivers will say that they cannot make change and request that the customer pays using WeChat or Alipay instead.

If you plan to stay in China for an extended period of time, setting up a WeChat Pay or Alipay account will definitely make your life much easier.

If you only plan to stay in China for a short time, however, you should be able to withdraw cash at most Chinese ATMs using major credit cards such as Visa or Mastercard. In most cases, you will have to pay a small fee when withdrawing money using international cards.

How much cash should I bring to China?

If you are traveling to China for the first time, you might be wondering whether or not to bring any cash.

Legally, you are permitted to bring 20,000 CNY, 5,000 USD or the equivalent in other foreign currencies into China with you when you come. Since this number can sometimes change, be sure to check to make sure this is still the case before you travel.

Realistically, you will usually not need to bring much cash at all with you, however. USD is not accepted in China, so you are unlikely to need it during your trip.

There are currency exchange booths at most major airports in big cities, so you could bring a small amount of your own currency with you and exchange it at the airport when you arrive. Alternatively, you could exchange money in your home country before getting on the plane. 

two CLI staff members stand with balloons in the background while hosting a raffle during a CLI anniversary event

There are limits to the amount of cash travelers can bring into China.

Before you travel, it’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the current exchange rates for Chinese renminbi and bring enough cash to cover the cost of a taxi from the airport to your hotel, as well as enough to cover a couple of nights at your hotel along with the hotel deposit.

Once you’ve arrived at your hotel and gotten settled in, you can then go out and withdraw more cash from an ATM.

Don't spend it all in one place!

Paying for things in a new currency in a new country can be exciting, but be sure you have a good idea of how much you're actually paying in your own currency equivalent before you spend. The value of China's currency has continued to improve against the dollar in recent years and things in China are not as cheap as they once were!

Once you’ve got your renminbi in hand, be sure to take some time to examine it and think about its history, its future and all the different ways there are to refer to it in both English and Chinese.

Free 30-minute Trial Lesson

Free 30-minute Trial Lesson

Continue Exploring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.