广西师范大学,坐落在美丽的城市。 桂林北京大学是中国领先的研究型大学,现有学生总数约3万人。除了培养数以千计的中国优秀本科生和研究生外,学校还接纳了越来越多的来自世界各地的留学生。

 

广西师范大学历史

今天的。 广西师范大学广西师范大学(Guǎngxī Shīfàn Dàxué)是一所综合性公立大学,拥有21个学院和系。它提供75个不同的本科专业,并授予不同学科的本科生、研究生和博士生学位。

与中国大多数现代大学一样,它成立于20世纪上半叶,当时正值政治大动荡时期。由于其诞生时的政治和历史局势不稳定,早年频繁地更换校址和名称。

创立和早期发展

1932年,这所学校在广西壮族自治区桂林市雁山区成立。原名广西省立师范学院,是中国最早的师范学校之一。

1936年,学校成立仅4年,就与国立广西大学合并,1941年才再次独立。1946年至1950年,学校在桂林以南240里的南宁,之后又回到桂林,第二次与国立广西大学合并。1953年,学校恢复独立,当时学校再次改名,这次改名为广西师范学院。

在经历了这一早期的变化之后,大学终于在1983年以现在的名称注册成立。

 

广西师范大学成立于1932年,当时名为广西省立师范学院。图片来源:https://english.gxnu.edu.cn/4227/listm.htm

关于"正常"的说明

虽然"普通大学"这个词在今天的英语使用者听起来可能很陌生,但在英语中,曾经普遍把培养教师的学校称为" "。普通学校.”在中国之外,现在更多的是将这类机构称为"师范学院"。

如今,许多以师范大学起家的综合性现代中国研究型大学,在其名称的英译中都有"正常"二字。像广西师范大学(Guǎngxī Shīfàn Dàxué),这类学校的中文名称中一般都会有师范大学(shīfàn dàxué)的字样。

广西师范大学今天

今天的广西师范大学是中国南方重要的学术研究中心。

学术界

考虑到GXNU最初是作为一所师范学院起家的,因此其师范教育项目持续特别强大也就不足为奇了。该校还以其众多的国际交流项目和优秀的化学系而闻名。

GXNU的学生可以选择不同的学术课程,这些课程分布在不同的学院和部门。

对人文学科感兴趣的学生可以考虑与国际文化与教育学院、中国语言文学学院、历史文化与旅游学院、外国语学院、教育学院、新闻与传播学院、马克思主义学院、经济与管理学院或法律学院、政治与公共管理学院合办的课程。

 

广西南宁大学是一所现代化的研究型大学,在几乎所有可以想象的学科中都提供了强大的学术课程。

 

对于对科学和工程感兴趣的学生,该大学在数学与统计学院、化学与药学学院、环境与资源学院、电气工程学院、物理科学与技术学院、生命科学学院、计算机科学与信息技术学院或健康管理学院提供一系列课程。

对艺术感兴趣的学生可以在音乐学院或设计学院以及GXNU美术学院学习。

此外,学校还在职业教育学院和体育学院开设了各种课程。

请记住,GXNU目前没有一个学术课程是用英语提供的。完全用中文普通话上课是提高语言能力的一种神奇方式,但这并不适合每个人。有兴趣学习英语语言课程的学生应该考虑参加联合课程。 GXNU-CLI留学项目。广西师范大学与CLI联合办学项目)。

 

对于已经熟练掌握普通话的学生来说,直接报考广西南宁大学是个不错的选择。

科研

GXNU培养了一个充满活力的知识社区,教授和学生都积极地参与研究。大学各系的教师经常在受人尊敬的学术期刊上发表研究成果。

该校在化学研究领域的贡献尤为显著。2017年,GXNU化学系发表论文被引用次数位居全球前1%。

该校出版两本学术期刊。 广西师范大学学报(自然科学版)广西师范大学学报(哲学社会科学版).

广西南宁大学的师生可以使用该校的图书馆网络,其中包括300多万册实体书和大量电子藏书。该校经常举办各种学科的国内和国际学术会议。

 

广西南宁大学的学生有很多机会参与研究,参加国内和国际学术会议。

GXNU校园

与中国许多大学的情况一样,近年来,在GXNU学习的学生人数增长迅速。相应的,学校的规模也随着学生人数的增加而扩大。如今,GXNU分布在三个不同的风景如画的校园。

育才校园

广西师范大学育才校区(育才校区Yùcái Xiàoqū)位于桂林市七星公园对面。 华文学院(CLI)。大多数国际学生都在这个校区生活和学习。

 

从桂林大学育才校区可以清晰地看到桂林著名的美丽喀斯特山。

王城校区

桂林大学王城校区位于桂林市中心地带。该校区的独特之处在于,它坐落在桂林市的中心地带。 靖江王府靖江王府Jìngjiāng Wángfǔ),其历史可以一直追溯到明朝初期(公元1368-1644年)。

绛王府除了是14位明朝王爷的故乡,也是历史悠久的学府,清朝时曾是科举考试的考场。

如今,GXNU的中国文明学院就在这个校园里。

 

广西南宁大学望城校区位于历史悠久的靖江王爷府内。

燕山校区

雁山校区(雁山校区Yànshān Xiàoqū)于2007年投入使用,是GXNU最新的校区。雁山校区位于桂林市南部,车程40分钟,位于桂林市和风景秀丽的桂林镇中间。 阳朔.

虽然广西南宁大学三个校区都有图书馆,但广西最大的图书馆就在燕山校区。很多国内的本科生都在这个校区学习。

 

燕山校区于2007年建成,是GXNU最新的校区。

国际合作与交流

广西师范大学多年来一直在教育来自全球各个角落的留学生。其与国际教育机构的合作始于建校后不到20年的时间,与世界其他地区的联系也是一年比一年更加紧密。

与越南的历史合作

中国提供 支持和帮助在越南战争(又称第二次印度支那战争和抗美援朝战争)期间,对北越共产党。

除了各种形式的经济和军事援助外,中国还通过在桂林接待大量越南学生来支持越南。考虑到广西壮族自治区与越南接壤,这些早期的学术交流在地理上是合理的。

1951年至1975年期间。 八校将校园搬到广西,共有1万多名越南学生在桂林学习。广西师范大学部分教职工在这些越南学校担任教师和管理人员。

这一时期在桂林学习的许多越南学生后来成为战后越南的政治、军事、文职领导人和学者。为了纪念这段学术合作的时期,有一个小型的博物馆,叫做"桂林大学"。 越南学校纪念馆越南学校纪念馆Yuènán Xuéxiào Jìniànguǎn)。纪念馆于2010年落成,位于育才校园内。

 

今天的GXNU学生得益于学校悠久的国际合作与交流历史。

今天的国际合作

今天,广西师范大学接待了来自许多不同国家的学生和学者,是一个充满活力的国际社区。除了优秀的中文课程外,广西师范大学还为国际学生提供本科生、研究生和博士生学位课程(国际学生guójì xuéshēng)。

已经具备较强中文能力的海外学生可以在广厦大学学习各种不同的学科,包括经济、计算机科学、教育、法律、旅游管理和音乐等。

孔子学院是位于越南、泰国和印度尼西亚的三所孔子学院的主办机构。该校还与40多个国家和地区的200多所高等院校合作开展教育交流项目。

由于GXNU与越南学生和学者的历史合作,该校至今仍受到越南留学生的欢迎。

由于国际学生人数众多,种类繁多,GXNU每年都会举办一些活动,如国际文化节和国际家长学生大会。

 

GXNU接纳了大量不同的国际学生。

广西师范大学与CLI合作项目

中国语言学院桂林市中文学校(CLI)与GXNU合作办学。 留学项目留学项目liúxué xiàngmù)面向全球留学生。参加CLI的学分制留学项目的学生可以在GXNU和GXNU学习课程。 CLI中心并领取广厦大学的正式成绩单。

参加GXNU-CLI联合留学项目,对于中文还需加强的学生来说是一个不错的选择。直接入读GXNU的学生需要完成所有的中文课程,而入读GXNU-CLI项目的学生则需要完成中文课程和英语课程的混合,重点是中国历史、政治、经济和文化。

CLI中心距离广西师范大学育才校区仅有5分钟的步行路程,方便CLI学生在两所院校上课。许多广西师范大学对外汉语教学专业的在校学生也在CLI担任实习生。

CLI的美国联合创始人Bradford Fried曾在广西师范大学担任教授和国际部主任多年。他还在广西师范大学获得了对外汉语教学的硕士学位,之后回到美国,在加州大学圣巴巴拉分校攻读教育学博士学位。

 

GXNU-CLI留学项目对于还没有准备好直接入读GXNU中文授课课程的学生来说,是个不错的选择。

您的家外之家

在异国他乡留学是改变人生的经历,好处多多。无论你的学术兴趣如何,广西师范大学都是在中国接受高等教育的理想之地。学校欢迎来自世界各地的学生申请,并有许多奖学金,包括孔子学院的奖学金。

准备好投身其中了吗?有关申请截止日期、要求和可用奖学金的信息可在以下网站找到 GXNU常见问题页面.有兴趣参加GXNU的CLI项目的学生可以在我们的网站上了解更多。 留学页面并通过我们的在线申请 申请表.

祝你好运,记住,千里之行,始于足下(qiānlǐ zhī xíng,shǐ yú zú xià,千里之行始于足下)。

 

对于计划在中国接受高等教育的人来说,GXNU是一个理想的起点。

与GXNU相关的词汇

HànzìPīnyīn定义
广西师范大学Guǎngxī Shīfàn Dàxué (中文)广西师范大学
桂林Guìlín桂林
广西壮族自治区Guǎngxī Zhuàngzú Zìzhìqū广西壮族自治区
师范大学(shīfàn dàxué)师范学院
育才校区Yùcái Xiàoqū (音译)育才校园
王城校区Wángchéng Xiàoqū (中文)王城校区
雁山校区Yànshān Xiàoqū(音译)燕山校区
科举考试kējǔ kǎoshì科举
孔子学院Kǒngzǐ 徐玉安孔子学院
留学项目liúxué xiàngmù(中文)留学项目
国际学生guójì xuéshēng留学生
千里之行,始于足下qiānlǐ zhī xíng, shǐ yú zú xià千里之行,始于足下。

Guangxi Normal University: A Guide for International Students

Guangxi Normal University (GXNU), located in the beautiful city of Guilin, is a leading research university in China with a total student population of around 30,000. In addition to educating thousands of outstanding Chinese undergraduate and graduate students, the university also plays host to an ever-growing number of international students from around the world.

History of Guangxi Normal University

Today, Guangxi Normal University (广西师范大学 Guǎngxī Shīfàn Dàxué) is a comprehensive public university with 21 colleges and departments. It offers 75 different undergraduate majors and awards undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees across a variety of disciplines.

Like most of China’s modern universities, it was founded in the first half of the 20th century during a time of great political turbulence. As a result of the unstable political and historical situation into which it was born, it underwent frequent location and name changes during its early years.

Founding and early development

The school that would one day become today’s GXNU was established in 1932 in the Yanshan district of Guilin (桂林 Guìlín), a major city in China’s Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region (广西壮族自治区 Guǎngxī Zhuàngzú Zìzhìqū). Originally called Guangxi Provincial Teacher’s College, it was one of China’s first teacher training schools.

In 1936, just four years after its founding, the school merged with National Guangxi University, only to become independent again in 1941. From 1946 to 1950, the school was located 240 miles south of Guilin in Nanning, before returning to Guilin and merging with National Guangxi University a second time. The school regained its independence in 1953, when it changed its name again, this time to Guangxi Teachers College.

After this early period of change, the university was finally incorporated under its current name in 1983.

Guangxi Normal University was founded in 1932 under the name Guangxi Provincial Teacher’s College. Image credit: https://english.gxnu.edu.cn/4227/listm.htm

A note on “Normal”

Although the term “normal university” might sound strange to English speakers today, it was once common in English to refer to schools that trained teachers as “normal schools.” Outside of China, it’s now more common to refer to such institutions as “teachers’ colleges.”

These days, many comprehensive, modern Chinese research universities which began as teachers’ colleges include the word “normal” in the English translation of their names. Like Guangxi Normal University (广西师范大学 Guǎngxī Shīfàn Dàxué), such schools will generally have the Chinese characters 师范大学 (shīfàn dàxué) in their Chinese names.

Guangxi Normal University today

Today’s Guangxi Normal University is an important center for academic study and research in southern China.

Academics

Considering the fact that GXNU began life as a teachers’ college, it’s unsurprising that its teacher education programs continue to be particularly strong. The school is also well-known for its many international exchange programs and its excellent chemistry department.

GXNU students can choose from a variety of different academic programs housed across a range of different colleges and departments.

Students interested in the humanities can consider programs housed with the colleges of International Culture and Education, Chinese Language and Literature, History, Culture and Tourism, Foreign Studies, Education, Journalism and Communication, Marxism, Economics and Management or Law, Politics and Public Administration.

GXNU is a modern research university that offers strong academic programs in almost every imaginable discipline.

For students interested in science and engineering, the university offers an array of programs housed within the colleges of Mathematics and Statistics, Chemistry and Pharmacy, Environment and Resources, Electrical Engineering, Physical Science and Technology, Life Science, Computer Science and Information Technology or Health Management.

Students interested in the arts can study in the colleges of Music or Design, as well as in the GXNU Academy of Fine Arts.

In addition, the university also offers various programs in the colleges of Vocational Education and Physical Education.

Keep in mind that none of the academic programs at GXNU are currently offered in English. Taking classes entirely in Mandarin Chinese is an amazing way to improve your language skills, but it isn’t for everyone. Students interested in taking English-language courses should consider enrolling in the joint GXNU-CLI study abroad program (see the Guangxi Normal University and CLI joint programs).

Enrolling directly in GXNU is a great option for students who are already proficient in Mandarin.

Research

GXNU cultivates a vibrant intellectual community in which both professors and students are actively engaged in research. University faculty members in every department frequently publish the results of their research in respected academic journals.

The university’s contributions to the field of chemistry research are especially notable. In 2017, GXNU’s chemistry department ranked in the top 1% worldwide in terms of number of citations received for published papers.

The university publishes two academic journals, The Journal of Guangxi Normal University (Natural Sciences Edition) and The Journal of Guangxi Normal University (Philosophy and Social Sciences Edition).

GXNU students and faculty enjoy access to the university’s network of libraries which contain over 3 millions physical books as well as large electronic collections. The university frequently hosts national and international academic conferences across a wide variety of disciplines.

Students at GXNU have many opportunities to engage in research and attend national and international academic conferences.

GXNU campuses

As is the case with many Chinese universities, the number of students studying at GXNU has grown rapidly in recent years. Accordingly, the size of the school has expanded along with its student body. Today, GXNU is spread across three different picturesque campuses.

Yucai Campus

Guangxi Normal University’s Yucai Campus (育才校区 Yùcái Xiàoqū) is located in Guilin near Seven Star Park right across from the Chinese Language Institute (CLI). Most international students live and study on this campus.

Guilin’s famously beautiful karst mountains are clearly visible from GXNU’s Yucai Campus.

Wangcheng Campus

GXNU’s Wangcheng Campus (王城校区 Wángchéng Xiàoqū) is located in the heart of downtown Guilin. This campus is unique because of the fact that it is nestled within the Jingjiang Princes’ Palace (靖江王府 Jìngjiāng Wángfǔ) which dates all the way back to the early days of the Ming dynasty (1368–1644 CE).

Aside from serving as home to 14 Ming dynasty princes, Jiangjiang Princes’ Palace also has a long history as a center of learning, having served as a testing site for the imperial exams (科举考试 kējǔ kǎoshì) during the Qing dynasty (1636–1912 CE).

Today, GXNU’s School of Chinese Civilization is located on this campus.

GXNU’s Wangcheng Campus sits within the historic Jingjiang Princes’ Palace.

Yanshan Campus

Yanshan Campus (雁山校区 Yànshān Xiàoqū), which opened in 2007, is GXNU’s newest campus. Yanshan is a 40-minute drive south of Guilin and is located about halfway between Guilin and the scenic town of Yangshuo.

Although there are libraries on the grounds of all three GXNU campuses, Guangxi’s largest library is housed at Yanshan. Many domestic undergraduate students are based on this campus.

Completed in 2007, Yanshan is GXNU’s newest campus.

International collaboration and exchange

Guangxi Normal University has been educating international students from every corner of the globe for years. Its collaboration with international educational institutions began less than 20 years after its founding and its ties with the rest of the world have only grown more robust with each passing year.

Historical collaboration with Vietnam

China provided support and assistance to the North Vietnamese communists during the Vietnam War (also called the Second Indochina War and the Resistance War Against America).

In addition to various forms of economic and military aid, China also supported Vietnam by hosting a large number of Vietnamese students in Guilin. These early academic exchanges made sense geographically considering that Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region shares a border with Vietnam.

Between 1951 and 1975, eight Vietnamese schools moved their campuses to Guangxi and a total of over 10,000 Vietnamese students studied in Guilin. Some Guangxi Normal University faculty and staff members worked in these Vietnamese schools as teachers and administrators.

Many Vietnamese students who studied in Guilin during this period went on to become political, military and civilian leaders and scholars in post-war Vietnam. This period of academic collaboration is commemorated by a small museum, called the Vietnam School Memorial Hall (越南学校纪念馆 Yuènán Xuéxiào Jìniànguǎn). Inaugurated in 2010, the hall is located on the grounds of Yucai Campus.

Today’s GXNU students benefit from the school’s long history of international cooperation and exchange,

International collaboration today

Today, GXNU hosts a vibrant international community of students and scholars from many different countries. In addition to its outstanding Chinese language programs, Guangxi Normal University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degree programs for international students (国际学生 guójì xuéshēng).

Students from overseas who already have a strong command of the Chinese language can study a variety of different subjects at GXNU including economics, computer science, education, law, tourism management and music.

GXNU serves as the host institution for three different Confucius Institutes (孔子学院 Kǒngzǐ Xuéyuàn) located in Vietnam, Thailand and Indonesia. The university also runs cooperative educational exchange programs with over 200 partner institutions of higher learning in 40 over countries and regions.

As a result of the historical collaboration between GXNU and Vietnamese students and scholars, the university remains popular with Vietnamese international students today.

In recognition of its large and diverse population of international students, GXNU hosts several annual events such as the International Cultural Festival and International Parent-Student Conference.

GXNU hosts a large and diverse population of international students.

Guangxi Normal University and CLI joint programs

The Chinese Language Institute (CLI), a Chinese language school located in Guilin, partners with GXNU to run study abroad programs (留学项目 liúxué xiàngmù) for international students from around the world. Students enrolled in CLI’s credit-bearing study abroad programs take courses at both GXNU and the CLI Center and receive official transcripts from GXNU.

Enrolling in a GXNU-CLI joint study abroad program is a great option for students whose Chinese still needs some work. While students who enroll as students at GXNU directly are expected to complete all their coursework in Chinese, students enrolled in the GXNU-CLI program complete a mix of Chinese language classes and English-language coursework focused on Chinese history, politics, economics and culture.

The CLI Center is only a five minute walk away from Guangxi Normal University’s Yucai Campus, making it easy for CLI students to attend classes at both institutions. Many current GXNU students majoring in teaching Chinese as a foreign language also serve as interns at CLI.

CLI’s American co-founder Bradford Fried served as a professor and Director of International Staff at Guangxi Normal University for many years. He also received his MA in teaching Chinese as a foreign language from GXNU before moving back to the U.S. to pursue his PhD in education at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

The GXNU-CLI study abroad program is a great choice for students who aren’t ready to enroll directly in GXNU’s Chinese-taught courses.

Your academic home away from home

Studying in a foreign country is a life-changing experience with many benefits. Whatever your academic interests, Guangxi Normal University is the perfect place to pursue higher education in China. The university welcomes students from around the world to apply, and there are a number of scholarships available, including scholarships from the Confucius Institute.

Ready to take the plunge? Information on application deadlines, requirements and available scholarships can be found on the GXNU FAQ page. Students interested in attending CLI’s program at GXNU can learn more on our study abroad page and apply through our online application form.

Good luck, and remember, 千里之行,始于足下 (qiānlǐ zhī xíng, shǐ yú zú xià; a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step).

GXNU is an ideal starting point for those planning to pursue higher education in China.

Vocabulary related to GXNU

HànzìPīnyīnDefinition
广西师范大学Guǎngxī Shīfàn DàxuéGuangxi Normal University
桂林GuìlínGuilin
广西壮族自治区Guǎngxī Zhuàngzú ZìzhìqūGuangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region
师范大学shīfàn dàxuénormal school; teachers' college
育才校区Yùcái XiàoqūYucai Campus
王城校区Wángchéng XiàoqūWangcheng Campus
雁山校区Yànshān XiàoqūYanshan Campus
科举考试kējǔ kǎoshìthe imperial civil examination
孔子学院Kǒngzǐ XuéyuànConfucius Institute
留学项目liúxué xiàngmùstudy abroad program
国际学生guójì xuéshēnginternational student
千里之行,始于足下qiānlǐ zhī xíng, shǐ yú zú xiàa journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step

One-on-One Chinese Lessons

One-on-One Chinese Lessons

Continue Exploring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *