中国以其悠久和复杂的历史而闻名。从一个城市或地区的角度来看这段历史,不仅可以使其更容易理解,而且还可以为中国的整体发展提供宝贵的见解。桂林自古以来就是文化和政治发展的重要地区,并一直保持到今天。继续阅读以了解更多。

 

桂林市场的历史照片

早期桂林历史

今天的桂林市(桂林市 Guìlínshì) 有着悠久的历史历史lìshǐ)悠久的历史;几千年来,这个城市一直以不同的名称定居。

在历史上,桂林一直是广西重要的贸易和治理中心。广西壮族自治区(Guǎngxī Zhuàngzú Zìzhìqū)及其他地区。它的田园风光和肥沃的山谷使其成为理想的农业种植环境,同时它位于湖南的南线,巩固了它作为重要贸易中心的地位。

桂林曾是重要的佛教中心,其独特的喀斯特山峰和水稻梯田等景观,使其成为令人仰慕的风景区,数百年来一直激励着中国艺术家和作家的作品。

 

 

尽管桂林是一个古老的城市,在其漫长的历史中,曾接待过各种不同的社会和民族,但其目前的中文名称桂林市(Guìlínshì)是一个新名称,仅在不到100年的时间里被用来指代这个城市。

在不同的历史时期,现在的桂林市曾被称为桂林郡(Guìlínjùn)、桂州(Guìzhōu)和桂林府(Guìlínfǔ)。直到1940年,它才得到它现在的名字,桂林市(Guìlínshì)。

桂林的意思是"甜美的桂花林"。如今,桂林城内散落着许多桂花树。这在古代一定也是如此,因为古代的城名大多也含有"桂"字,意为"桂花"。

现在的桂林最早可追溯的居民是曾陂堰人,他们是一万年前古代母系社会的一部分。公元前314年,属于非汉族的南方民族集合体的人,被称为百越人,在桂林附近定居。 漓江.

在秦朝(公元前221年-公元前206年),中国军队在与南越人作战时进入桂林,并在该地区建立了第一个由中国皇帝管理的行政机构。

 

中国风格的桂林岩溶山水画与船的关系

人们在桂林及周边地区生活了几千年。

少数民族遭遇汉族

在汉人到来之前,广西和后来的桂林地区是各种不同少数民族的家园(少数民族 shǎoshùmínzú) 诸如 壮族壮族壮族壮族壮族壮族(Zhuàngzú)和 姚明瑶族Yáozú),他们习惯于独立。随着秦军的到来,他们突然受到了皇帝的统治。

壮族或多或少愿意适应汉族文化和政治,而瑶族则抵制汉族文化的融入。瑶族占人口多数的广西中部和东部地区成为动荡的温床。

该地区少数民族与汉族之间的民族紧张关系在整个时期内持续发展。 唐朝.在宋朝时期,对壮族和瑶族采取的是强制和让步交替的办法。动乱不断,一位壮族领袖甚至一度发起独立王国。

 

中国古代建筑和人物的场景画

广西的一些少数民族接受了汉族的统治,但也有一些少数民族进行了反抗。

 

元(1206-1368)和明(1368-1644)两朝,起义和暴力始终存在。

少数民族群体与中国领导人之间的冲突只是 升级了在1644-1912年的清朝时期,少数民族与中国领导人之间的冲突才开始升级。

在晚清时期,由于外国在广西的影响,紧张局势也有所加剧。特别是鸦片战争后签订的剥削性的《天津条约》以及19世纪后半叶法国在广西部分地区的经济和军事活动进一步破坏了该地区的稳定。

太平天国叛乱

在明朝和清朝的大部分时间里。现在被称为桂林的城市是广西壮族自治区的首府。

广西在清朝历史上发挥了举足轻重的作用,是太平天国的发源地。 太平天国叛乱的发源地一场血腥的内战从公元1850年到1864年席卷了中国。太平天国运动的领导人。 洪秀全他是一个失败的 的科举考试洪秀全是广东省的一名落榜生,他认为自己是耶稣的弟弟。

广西的起源

19世纪40年代初,洪秀柱和一个叫冯云山的远房表弟 冯云山皈依基督教,并开始在中国南部地区旅行,寻找皈依者。洪秀柱在广西桂平县有一些远房亲戚,因此两人于1844年前往那里传教。

他们成功地在广西的蓟门山地区获得了许多新的信徒。不久,他们开始把他们的新信徒群体称为 拜上帝会.

1850年,清朝军队经过广西,前往镇压因饥荒而酝酿的叛乱。其中一些军队威胁要杀死他们遇到的一些拜上帝会成员,这促使洪秀全和冯玉祥带领他们的协会起义,反抗清朝。 

1851年1月,洪秀全宣布成立太平天国,清军与拜上帝教的武装冲突开始了。这一事件被称为 金田起义,标志着太平天国运动的开始。

 

在上述时代,桂林是广西省的首府,它作为太平天国的发源地发挥了关键的作用。

围攻桂林及其后果

在取得金田的胜利后,叛军继续前进,于1851年秋天占领了广西的另一个城市永安。在遭到清军的攻击后,太平天国叛军离开永安,向桂林进军。

1952年,4万名太平军对桂林进行了33天的围攻。然而,太平军遇到了激烈的抵抗。尽管他们使用了攻城塔、火箭和云梯,但还是被江忠源将军打败了,被迫放弃,没有攻下城市。 

他们随后向湖南进发,但在索义福德遭到伏击,约有一万名太平军被杀,其中许多人最初来自广西。这次伏击有可能消灭他们的运动,但他们继续向湖南进发,在那里获得了许多新的追随者。 

太平军占领了古城 南京1853年,太平军占领了古城南京,将其作为首都。此后,他们的运动将持续10多年,直到1864年被清军最终击败。

桂林近代史

现在被称为桂林的城市数百年来一直是广西的首都,但在20世纪初,首都迁至南宁市(南宁市 南宁市).

即使失去了省会的地位,桂林仍然是孙中山领导的国民党(国民党)的重要基地,后来被蒋介石继承。在1906年至1916年的十年间,广西的省级领导人支持孙中山试图建立的新共和国。

蒋介石在1927年继承了孙中山的地位,但他无法组建一个足够强大的中央政府,以镇压全国各地的独立派。一群被称为"广西帮"的地方领导人统治了该地区,并保持了部分独立。

壮族成员在20世纪20年代末和30年代初加入了蓬勃发展的共产主义运动。尽管政治不稳定,桂林仍保持了其在该地区的重要地位。1940年,桂林市以其现在的名字成立了桂林市。

 

老桂林的黑白照片

广西在20世纪是革命者的温床。图片版权归SOAS(东方和非洲研究学院)档案馆所有,由Reginald Hedgeland收藏和布里斯托尔大学中国历史照片提供(www.hpcbristol.net)。

战时的桂林

二战

1937年,中国和日本之间爆发了战争。日本人已经入侵了中国东北,他们从1932年开始占领中国东北。

在第二次世界大战中,中国与英国、苏联和美国都是盟国之一。

战争期间,桂林市成为中国和盟国空军的主要基地。甚至还有一个由美国志愿空军人员组成的中队驻扎在桂林,被称为 飞虎队.

1939年,日本人入侵并占领了南宁和龙州。1944年,日本军队为征服广西进行了协调努力。在赢得桂林-柳州战役后,他们短暂地占领了桂林、柳州和梧州,但中国军队很快就夺回了城市。

桂林市在第二次世界大战中国战场(中国称为抗日战争)中发挥了至关重要的作用,它是中国士兵对日军发动多次防御性攻击的空军基地所在地。

 

驻扎在桂林的美国空军人员的黑白照片

二战期间,美国志愿军空军的一个中队驻扎在桂林。

内战

1945年二战中国战场结束后,桂林居民只享受到了短暂的喘息之机。不久,蒋介石的国民党()和蒋介石的国民党之间爆发了内战。国民党 Guómíndǎng)和毛泽东的共产党(共产党 Gòngchǎndǎng).

1949年,共产党军队占领桂林,使广西成为中华人民共和国的一部分。也是在1949年,共产党的军队在全国范围内的内战中打败了国民党。中国开始了毛泽东和共产党领导的治国理政的新阶段,至今仍由共产党领导。

1958年,广西被改划为自治区。现称广西壮族自治区(广西壮族自治区 Guǎngxī Zhuàngzú Zìzhìqū)。)

历史遗留问题如何塑造今天的桂林

多元化的人口

现代桂林所在的区域及周边地区的人口一直是多元化的。在百越时代是如此,至今仍是如此。

正如广西壮族自治区的名字一样,目前居住在广西境内的成员最多的民族是壮族。如今,壮族是中国55个非汉族少数民族中最大的民族。中国约有1800万壮族人,其中大部分居住在广西。事实上,壮族约占广西人口的32%。

广西和桂林的其他民族有瑶族、侗族、苗族、回族、彝族、水族、金族等。

 

桂林人穿着传统服饰的黑白历史照片

桂林的人口一直是多元化的。图片版权归Peter Lockhart Smith所有,由布里斯托尔大学(www.hpcbristol.net)的班尼斯特家族和中国历史照片提供。

受保护的地位

20世纪80年代初是中华人民共和国进行重大改革的时期,在许多其他旨在使中国现代化的法律和政治行动中,政府采取了积极主动的措施,保护某些地区的地理和文化完整性。在许多其他旨在实现中国现代化的法律和政治行动中,政府采取了积极的步骤,以保护某些地区的地理和文化完整性。

1981年,国务院将桂林定为文化历史保护城市。当时,中国只有其他三个城市也被授予这一保护地位。北京、杭州和 苏州.

当地官员不仅要保护桂林的自然风光,还要保护桂林的文化遗产(Cultural遗产whuàyíchǎn)。2014年,桂林独特的喀斯特地貌成了 教科文组织世界遗产.

 

桂林的历史彩照

从20世纪80年代开始,中国政府已采取措施保护桂林的景观和文化。

桂林。喜迎中外游客

时至今日,桂林仍是广西乃至中国的一个重要城市。桂林和阳朔都是 阳朔都是国家承认的风景区,并且 桂林的美丽被当地人和来自世界各地的游客所欣赏。

今天,桂林是一个相对较小的中国城市,人口约为 1,154,700人,是学习中文的理想场所。

这座城市提供了一种身临其境的体验,它的风景和文化会让任何有机会到访的人感到惊讶。考虑在以下地点学习普通话 CLI,位于繁华美丽的桂林市!

 

黄昏时分的现代桂林照片

如今的桂林,是一座繁华的现代化城市,以其周围的喀斯特山峦之美而闻名。

桂林历史词汇

HànzìPīnyīn定义
桂林市Guìlínshì桂林市
guì桂花
广西壮族自治区Guǎngxī Zhuàngzú Zìzhìqū广西壮族自治区
南宁市Nánníngshì南宁市
历史lìshǐ历史
少数民族shǎoshùmínzú少数民族
壮族Zhuàngzú壮族人
瑶族Yáozú瑶族
朝代(cháodài)朝代
清朝Qīngcháo清朝
抗日战争Kàngrì Zhànzhēng(简体中文)抗日战争
国民党Guómíndǎng国民党
共产党Gòngchǎndǎng共产党
国共内战Guó Gòng Nèizhàn (国语)内战
景色jǐngsè风景
旅游lǚyóu旅游业
文化遗产wénhuàyíchǎn文化遗产

A Brief Overview of the History of Guilin

China is well known for its long and complex history. Looking at this history from the perspective of one city or region can not only make it more accessible, but can also provide valuable insight into China's overall development. Guilin has been a significant area of cultural and political development since ancient times and has remained so to this very day. Read on to learn more.

historic photo of a market in Guilin

Early Guilin History

The present-day city of Guilin (桂林市 Guìlínshì) has a long history (历史 lìshǐ); the city has been settled under various names for thousands of years.

Throughout its history, Guilin has served as a vital center for trade and governance in the Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region (广西壮族自治区 Guǎngxī Zhuàngzú Zìzhìqū) and beyond. Its idyllic and fertile valleys have made it an ideal environment for agricultural cultivation, while its location along the southern route from Hunan has helped cement its status as an important trade hub.

Guilin was once a major Buddhist center, and its unique landscape, including its karst peaks and rice terraces, have made it an admired scenic area that has inspired the works of Chinese artists and writers for centuries.

Although Guilin is an ancient city that has played host to a variety of different societies and peoples throughout its long history, its current Chinese name, 桂林市 (Guìlínshì), is a new one which has only been used to refer to the city for less than 100 years.

At various points throughout its history, present-day Guilin city (桂林市 Guìlínshì) was called 桂林郡 (Guìlínjùn), 桂州 (Guìzhōu) and 桂林府 (Guìlínfǔ). It did not receive its current name, 桂林市 (Guìlínshì), until 1940.

The name 桂林 means “forest of sweet osmanthus.” Today, there are many osmanthus trees scattered throughout the city. This must have also been true in ancient times, since most of the ancient names of the city also contain the character 桂 (guì) which means “osmanthus.”

The earliest traceable inhabitants of what is now called Guilin were the Zengpiyan people, who were part of an ancient matriarchal society that existed 10,000 years ago. In 314 BCE, people belonging to a collection of non-Han southern ethnic groups known as the Baiyue (Hundred Yue) settled near the Li River.

During the Qin dynasty (221 BCE – 206 BCE), Chinese troops entered Guilin while in combat with the Nanyue people, and established the first administration governed by a Chinese emperor in the region.

Chinese style painting of Guilin's karst mountains and river with boats

People have lived in the area in and around Guilin for thousands of years.

Ethnic minority peoples encounter the Han

Before the arrival of the Han Chinese, Guangxi and the area that would later become Guilin were home to a variety of different ethnic minority groups (少数民族 shǎoshùmínzú) such as the Zhuang (壮族 Zhuàngzú) and the Yao (瑶族 Yáozú), who were accustomed to independence. With the arrival of the Qin army, they were suddenly subjected to the reign of the emperor.

While the Zhuang were more or less willing to adapt to Han culture and politics, the Yao resisted Chinese acculturation. Areas in central and eastern Guangxi, where the Yao comprised the majority of the population, became a hotbed for unrest.

Ethnic tensions amongst the region’s minority groups and the Han continued to progress throughout the Tang dynasty. Under the Song dynasty, the Zhuang and Yao peoples were treated with an approach alternating between coercion and concession. Unrest continued, and a Zhuang leader even initiated an independent kingdom for a brief stint.

Chinese painting of scene featuring ancient buildings and people

While some ethnic minorities in Guangxi accepted Han rule, others resisted.

Uprisings and violence persisted throughout the Yuan (1206-1368) and Ming (1368-1644) dynasties.

Conflict between ethnic minority groups and Chinese leadership only escalated during the Qing dynasty (清朝 Qīngcháo), which lasted from 1644-1912 CE.

Tensions also increased during the late Qing due to foreign influence in Guangxi. In particular, the signing of the exploitative Treaty of Tianjin in the wake of the Opium Wars and French economic and military activities in parts of Guangxi in the latter half of the 19th century further destabilized the region.

The Taiping Rebellion

During most of the Ming and Qing dynasties, the city that is now called Guilin was the capital of Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region. 

Guangxi played a pivotal role in Qing dynasty history as the birthplace of the Taiping Rebellion, a bloody civil war that engulfed China from 1850 to 1864 CE. The leader of the Taiping Rebellion, Hong Xiuquan, was a failed imperial exam candidate from Guangdong Province who believed himself to be the younger brother of Jesus. 

Guangxi origins

In the early 1840’s, Hong and a distant cousin named Feng Yunshan converted to Christianity and began to travel around southern China seeking converts. Hong had some distant relatives in Guiping County, Guangxi, so the two traveled there in 1844 to preach. 

They were successful at gaining many new followers in the Thistle Mountain region of Guangxi. Soon, they began referring to their group of new converts as the God-worshipping Society.

In 1850, Qing imperial troops moved through Guangxi on their way to put down a rebellion that was brewing there as a result of a famine. Some of these troops threatened to kill some of the God-worshipping Society members that they met, prompting Hong and Feng to lead their society in a revolt against the Qing. 

In January 1851, Hong announced the creation of the Taiping Heavenly Kingdom and armed clashes between Qing troops and the God Worshipers began. This incident, called the Jintian Uprising, marked the beginning of the Taiping Rebellion.

Guangxi Province, of which Guilin was the capital during the era portrayed above, played a pivotal role as the birthplace of the Taiping Rebellion.

Siege of Guilin and aftermath

After achieving victory at Jintian, the rebels moved on, capturing another Guangxi city called Yongan in fall 1851. After being attacked by Qing forces, the Taiping rebels left Yongan and marched to Guilin.

In 1952, the 40,000 strong Taiping force laid siege to Guilin for 33 days. The Taipings met with fierce resistance, however. Despite their use of siege towers, rockets and ladders, they were defeated by General Jiang Zhongyuan and forced to give up without taking the city. 

They then marched towards Hunan, only to be ambushed at Suoyi Ford, where around 10,000 Taipings, many originally from Guangxi, were killed. The ambush threatened to wipe out their movement, but they continued on to Hunan, where they picked up many new followers. 

The Taipings captured the ancient city of Nanjing in 1853, making it their capital. Their movement would continue for over 10 years after that, until their ultimate defeat by Qing forces in 1864. 

Modern Guilin History

The city now called Guilin served as the capital of Guangxi for hundreds of years, but in the early 1900's, the capital was moved to Nanning (南宁市 Nánníngshì).

Even after losing its status as the provincial capital, Guilin remained an important base for the Nationalist Party (Guomindang) led by Sun Yat-sen and later inherited by Chiang Kai-shek. In the decade between 1906 and 1916, Guangxi’s provincial leaders supported the new republic Sun was attempting to build.

Chiang Kai-shek inherited Sun Yat-sen’s position in 1927, but he was unable to form a sufficiently powerful central government to quash independent factions throughout the country. A group of local leaders dubbed the Guangxi Clique governed the region and maintained partial independence.

Members of the Zhuang minority group joined the burgeoning communist movement in the late 1920s and early 1930s. Despite political uncertainties, Guilin maintained its crucial status in the region. In 1940, Guilin City was established under its current name (Guilin 桂林市 Guìlínshì).

black and white photograph of old Guilin

Guangxi was a hotbed of revolutionaries during the 20th century. Image copyright SOAS (The School of Oriental and African Studies) Archives, courtesy of the Reginald Hedgeland collection and Historical Photographs of China, University of Bristol (www.hpcbristol.net).

Guilin During Wartime

World War II

In 1937, war broke out between China and Japan. The Japanese had already invaded northeastern China, which they occupied starting in 1932.

China was among the Allied Powers in World War Two, along with Great Britain, the Soviet Union and the United States.

During the war, the city of Guilin became the primary base for the Chinese and Allied air forces. There was even a squadron of volunteer American air force personnel based in Guilin known as the Flying Tigers.

In 1939, the Japanese invaded and occupied Nanning and Longzhou. In 1944, Japanese forces made a coordinated effort to conquer Guangxi. After winning the Battle of Guilin-Liuzhou, they briefly captured Guilin, Liuzhou, and Wuzhou, but Chinese troops soon took back the city.

The city of Guilin played a crucial role throughout the China theatre of World War Two, known in China as the War of Resistance Against Japanese Aggression (抗日战争 Kàngrì Zhànzhēng), as the site of an air base where Chinese soldiers launched many defensive attacks against Japanese troops.

black and white photo of American air force personnel based in Guilin

During World War II, a squadron of volunteer American air force personnel was based in Guilin.

Civil War

After the China theatre of World War Two concluded in 1945, Guilin residents only enjoyed a brief respite from violence. A civil war soon broke out between Chiang’s Nationalist Party (国民党 Guómíndǎng) and Mao Zedong’s Communist Party (共产党 Gòngchǎndǎng).

Communist forces took Guilin in 1949, making Guangxi part of the People’s Republic of China (PRC). Also in 1949, the Communist forces defeated the Nationalists in the civil war that had been ongoing throughout the country. China started a new phase of governance led by Mao Zedong and the Communist Party, which still leads the country today.

In 1958, Guangxi was reclassified as an autonomous region. It is now known as Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region (广西壮族自治区 Guǎngxī Zhuàngzú Zìzhìqū).

How historical legacies shape Guilin today

A diverse population

The population of the area in and around where modern Guilin is situated has always been diverse. This was true in the days of the Bai Yue, and it remains true to this day.

As the name Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region suggests, the ethnic group with the most members currently living in Guangxi is the Zhuang. Today, the Zhuang are the largest of China’s 55 non-Han ethnic minority groups. There are around 18 million Zhuang people in China, and most of them live in Guangxi. In fact, the Zuang make up around 32% of Guangxi’s population.

Other ethnic groups in Guangxi and Guilin include the Yao, the Dong, the Miao, the Hui, the Yi, the Shui and the Gin.

black and white historical photo of Guilin people in traditional dress

Guilin’s population has always been diverse. Image copyright Peter Lockhart Smith, courtesy of the Banister Family and Historical Photographs of China, University of Bristol (www.hpcbristol.net).

Protected status

The early 1980s was a time of significant reform in the People’s Republic of China. Amongst many other legal and political actions intended to modernize China, the government took proactive steps to preserve the geographic and cultural integrity of certain regions.

In 1981, the State Council designated Guilin a culturally and historically protected city. At the time, only three other Chinese cities were also granted this protected status: Beijing, Hangzhou, and Suzhou.

Local officials were tasked with preserving not only Guilin’s natural scenery, but also its cultural heritage (文化遗产 wénhuàyíchǎn). In 2014, the unique Guilin karst landscape became a UNESCO World Heritage site.

historical color photo of Guilin

Starting in the 1980’s, the Chinese government has taken steps to protect Guilin’s landscape and culture.

Guilin: Welcoming visitors from China and abroad

To this day, Guilin is a vital city in Guangxi and in China more broadly. Both Guilin and Yangshuo are still nationally-recognized scenic areas and Guilin’s beauty is appreciated by locals as well as by visitors from around the world.

Today, Guilin is a relatively small Chinese city with a population of approximately 1,154,700, making it an ideal place to learn Chinese.

The city provides an immersive experience, and its scenery and culture will amaze anyone who has the opportunity to visit. Consider studying Mandarin at CLI, located in the bustling and beautiful city of Guilin!

photo of modern Guilin at dusk

Today, Guilin is a bustling, modern city renowned for the beauty of the karst mountains that surround it.

Guilin History Vocabulary

HànzìPīnyīnDefinition
桂林市GuìlínshìGuilin city
guìosmanthus
广西壮族自治区Guǎngxī Zhuàngzú ZìzhìqūGuangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region
南宁市NánníngshìNanning city
历史lìshǐhistory
少数民族shǎoshùmínzúethnic minority
壮族Zhuàngzúthe Zhuang people (a Chinese ethnic group)
瑶族Yáozúthe Yao people (a Chinese ethnic group)
朝代cháodàidynasty
清朝QīngcháoQing dynasty
抗日战争Kàngrì ZhànzhēngWar of Resistance Against Japanese Aggression
国民党GuómíndǎngNationalist Party
共产党GòngchǎndǎngCommunist Party
国共内战Guó Gòng NèizhànChinese Civil War
景色jǐngsèscenery
旅游lǚyóutourism
文化遗产wénhuàyíchǎncultural heritage

Free 30-minute Trial Lesson

Free 30-minute Trial Lesson

Continue Exploring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.