Qu'est-ce que la Saint-Valentin chinoise et comment est-elle célébrée ?

Qu'est-ce que la Saint-Valentin chinoise ?

La Saint-Valentin chinoise (七夕节 Qīxìjié) est célébrée le 7e jour du 7e mois du calendrier lunaire chinois. Aussi appelé Festival Qixi (littéralement : « Soirée du Festival des Sept »), cette célébration unique de l'amour est profondément enracinée dans le folklore chinois et est basée sur la légende romantique de Zhinü (織女 Zhīnǚ) et Niulang (牛郎 Niúláng).

Bien que n'étant pas un jour férié chinois officiel, Qixi a plus de 2,000 ans d'histoire et est largement célébrée par les couples dans toute la Chine. Il a même ses propres versions respectives au Japon et en Corée.

L'histoire du festival Qixi : le bouvier et la tisserande

Selon la légende, Zhinü, représentée par l'étoile Vega, était l'une des filles du Empereur de Jade. Lassé de sa vie mondaine au paradis, Zhinü est descendue sur terre et a défié les règles du ciel en tombant amoureuse du mortel Niulang, représenté par Altair, l'étoile la plus brillante de la constellation de l'Aquila.

La mère de Zhinü, la déesse du ciel, a rapidement découvert que Zhinü avait épousé un mortel et a rapidement envoyé des soldats pour la récupérer. Les soldats ont rapidement accompli leur mission et, tragiquement, les amants ont été séparés.

Face à sa perte dévastatrice, le mari mortel de Zhinü, Niulang, a emmené leurs deux enfants au paradis à la recherche de sa femme bien-aimée. Pourtant, la déesse du ciel, toujours la mère contrôlante, apprit rapidement l'arrivée de Niulang et créa une immense rivière - la Voie lactée elle-même - entre lui et Zhinü pour les séparer pour l'éternité.

Ému par l'amour du couple, le 7ème jour du 7ème mois lunaire, un troupeau de belles pies forment un pont sur le grand fleuve céleste afin que Niulang et Zhinü puissent se rencontrer sur ce qui fut connu sous le nom de « Pont Magpie ».

Assister au déroulement de cette scène des plus romantiques - et pour le plus grand plaisir des amoureux du monde entier - la déesse du ciel a subi un changement radical de cœur ! Elle a donc décidé de permettre aux amoureux de se retrouver sur le pont Magpie chaque année le 7ème jour du 7ème mois lunaire pour toujours.

Quand est la Saint-Valentin chinoise sur le calendrier grégorien ?

En 2021, le Qixi Festival tombera le 14 août sur le calendrier Grégorien. En 2022, il sera célébré le 5 août.

Comment (Qīxìjié) est-il célébré en Chine ?

La Saint-Valentin chinoise est l'occasion pour les couples d'exprimer leur amour, ce qu'ils font généralement avec une gamme de cadeaux et de gestes élaborés. Comme toutes les vacances romantiques, les couples passent du temps ensemble, profitent d'un bon dîner, échanger des cadeaux, aller au cinéma, etc. Le festival Qixi apporte un air de romantisme dans les rues de Chine, avec des couples regardant le ciel nocturne à la recherche des étoiles Vega et Altair.

Qixi est un moment pour cuisiner et manger 巧果 (qiǎoguǒ), un type de pâtisserie sucrée. C'est parce que le caractère 巧 (qiǎo) dans 巧果 ressemble beaucoup à 桥 (qiáo), qui signifie pont, symbolisant ainsi le pont Magpie céleste !巧 peut aussi signifier « habile », donc en mangeant ces petits bonbons, les femmes peuvent devenir (xīnlíng shǒuqiǎo) – intelligentes et habiles. Traditionnellement, les femmes prient également Zhinü pour la sagesse, un bon mari et une vie heureuse.

Le 巧果 (qiǎoguǒ), un type spécial de pâtisserie sucrée, est une friandise populaire le jour de la Saint-Valentin chinoise.

Autres vacances romantiques en Chine

En plus de Qixi, il y a quelques autres vacances romantiques célébrées chaque année en Chine :

14 février : Saint Valentin (情人节 Qíngrénjié)

La Saint-Valentin est principalement populaire parmi les jeunes générations car elle est importée d'Occident et elle est célébrée un peu différemment en Chine. Habituellement, les femmes offrent du chocolat à leurs partenaires pour montrer leur appréciation et leur amour. Les hommes devraient ensuite rendre la pareille un mois plus tard, comme nous le verrons ci-dessous.

14 mars : Saint Valentin blanc (白色情人节 Báisè Qíngrénjié)

Ce jour-là, les hommes sont censés rendre les cadeaux reçus le 14 février et offrir à leurs partenaires des chocolats blancs. On s'attend également à ce qu'ils achètent des cadeaux d'une valeur supérieure à ceux reçus de leur partenaire le mois précédent.

Bien que la Saint-Valentin blanche ait été créé à l'origine par l'industrie de la confiserie au Japon dans les années 1970, il est rapidement devenu très populaire dans toute l'Asie de l'Est.

20 mai : Festival 520 (五二零节 Wǔ'èrlíngjié)

Grâce au grand nombre de homophones en chinois, un nouveau phénomène d'utilisation des chiffres pour remplacer l'argot Internet est apparu, ce qui a donné naissance au « 520 Festival ».

Les nombres « 520 » (五二零 wǔ èr líng) sonnent comme « Je t'aime » (我爱你 wǒ ài nǐ) en chinois. Par conséquent, le 20 mai est devenu une autre Saint-Valentin chinoise ! Bien qu'il ne soit pas aussi populaire que le festival Qixi, c'est toujours un jour pour les couples d'échanger des notes d'amour, enveloppes rouges remplies d'argent, et de petits cadeaux.

Mais les célibataires ne s'inquiètent pas ! Il existe en fait un vacances pour célibataires en Chine. En fait, la Journée des célibataires est si populaire qu'elle se classe maintenant comme la plus grand événement commercial de 24 heures dans le monde!

Bien qu'elles ne soient plus considérées comme des vacances romantiques aujourd'hui, la Festival des Lanternes était également associée à l'amour et à la romance dans la Chine ancienne et est parfois appelée la « vraie » Saint-Valentin traditionnelle chinoise.

Maintenant que vous connaissez les bases des vacances romantiques en Chine, pourquoi ne pas rafraîchir votre vocabulaire chinois ? La première étape pour rencontrer quelqu'un de nouveau est de dire "bonjour", alors consultez notre liste de 12 façons de dire "salut" en chinois.

Bien sûr, la meilleure façon d'améliorer votre chinois est de s'engager dans une immersion linguistique complète. Nous espérons vous voir un jour à Guilin pour apprendre le chinois en Chine!

Vocabulaire chinois lié aux vacances romantiques en Chine

ChinesePinyinEnglish
爱情àiqínglove
谈恋爱tán liàn'àito date
订婚dìnghūnto get engaged
结婚jiéhūnto marry
情侣qínglǚlovers
鲜花xiānhuāfresh flowers
礼物lǐwùgift
蠋光晚餐zhú guāng wǎncāncandle lit dinner
调情tiáoqíngto flirt
帅哥shuàigēhandsome guy
美女měinǚbeautiful girl
男朋友nánpéngyǒuboyfriend
女朋友nǚpéngyǒugirlfriend
暗恋ànliànto have a crush; to like someone in secret
告白gàobáito confess
花心huāxīnfickle; unfaithful
花花公子huāhuā gōngzǐplayboy
约会yuēhuì(go on a) date
网恋wǎngliànonline dating
来电láidiànto have chemistry with someone
吃醋chīcùto be jealous
心碎xīn suìheartbreak
幸福xìngfúhappiness
七夕节QīxìjiéQixi Festival; Chinese Valentine’s Day
情人节QíngrénjiéValentine's Day (international)
白色情人节Báisè QíngrénjiéWhite Valentine’s Day
五二零节Wǔ'èrlíngjié520 Festival

Leçon d'essai gratuite de 30 minutes

Leçon d'essai gratuite de 30 minutes

Continuer l'exploration

What is Chinese Valentine's Day and how is it celebrated?

What is Chinese Valentine’s Day?

Chinese Valentine’s Day (七夕节 Qīxìjié) is celebrated on the 7th day of the 7th month of the Chinese lunar calendar. Also called Qixi Festival (literally: “Evening of Sevens Festival”), this unique celebration of love is deeply rooted in Chinese folklore and is based on the romantic legend of Zhinü (織女 Zhīnǚ) and Niulang (牛郎 Niúláng).

Although not an official Chinese holiday, Qixi has over 2,000 years of history and is widely celebrated by couples throughout China. It even has its own respective versions in Japan and Korea.

The Story of the Qixi Festival: The Cowherd and the Weaver Girl

According to legend, Zhinü, represented by the star Vega, was one of the daughters of the Jade Emperor. Bored with her mundane life in heaven, Zhinü descended to earth and defied the rules of heaven by falling in love with the mortal Niulang, represented by Altair, the brightest star in the constellation of Aquila.

Zhinü’s mother, the Goddess of Heaven, soon discovered that Zhinü had married a mortal and promptly sent soldiers to retrieve her. The soldiers made quick work of their assignment and, tragically, the lovers were separated.

In the face of his devastating loss, Zhinü’s mortal husband Niulang carried their two children to heaven in search of his beloved wife. Yet the Goddess of Heaven, ever the controlling mother, quickly learned of Niulang’s arrival and created a tremendous river—the Milky Way itself—between him and Zhinü to separate them for eternity.

Moved by the couple’s love, on the 7th day of the 7th lunar month, a flock of beautiful magpies formed a bridge over the great celestial river so that Niulang and Zhinü could meet on what came to be known as the “Magpie Bridge.”

Witnessing this most romantic scene unfold—and to the delight of lovers worldwide—the Goddess of Heaven underwent a dramatic change of heart! She thus decided to allow the lovers to meet on the Magpie Bridge each year on the 7th day of the 7th lunar month forevermore.

When is Chinese Valentine’s Day on the Gregorian calendar?

In 2021, Qixi Festival will fall on August 14 on the Gregorian calendar. In 2022, it will be celebrated on August 5.

How is 七夕节 (Qīxìjié) Celebrated in China?

The Chinese Valentine’s Day is a time for couples to express their love, which they usually do with an array of elaborate gifts and gestures. Like any romantic holiday, couples spend time together, enjoy a nice dinner, exchange gifts, go to the cinema, etc. Qixi Festival brings an air of romanticism to the streets of China, with couples gazing into the night sky in search of the stars Vega and Altair.

Qixi is a time to bake and eat 巧果 (qiǎoguǒ), a type of sweet pastry. This is because the character 巧 (qiǎo) in 巧果 sounds very similar to 桥 (qiáo), which means bridge, thus symbolizing the celestial Magpie Bridge! 巧 can also mean “skillful,” so by eating these little sweets women can become 心灵手巧 (xīnlíng shǒuqiǎo)—clever and skillful. Traditionally, women also pray to Zhinü for wisdom, a good husband, and a happy life.

巧果 (qiǎoguǒ), a special type of sweet pastry, is a popular treat on Chinese Valentine's day.

Other Romantic Holidays in China

In addition to Qixi, there are a few other romantic holidays celebrated each year in China:

February 14: Valentine's Day (情人节 Qíngrénjié)

Valentine’s Day is mainly popular amongst younger generations as it is an import from the West, and it is celebrated a bit differently in China. Usually, women gift chocolate to their partners to show their appreciation and love. Men are then expected to return the favor one month later, as we’ll see below.

March 14: White Valentine’s Day (白色情人节 Báisè Qíngrénjié)

On this day, men are expected to reciprocate the gifts received on February 14th and present their partners with white chocolates. They are also expected to buy gifts that are greater in value than those received from their significant other the previous month.

Although White Valentine’s Day was originally created by the confectionery industry in Japan in the 1970s, it soon became very popular throughout East Asia.

May 20: 520 Festival (五二零节 Wǔ'èrlíngjié)

Thanks to the large number of homophones in Chinese, a new phenomenon of using numbers to replace internet slang has emerged which consequently gave birth to the “520 Festival.”

The numbers “520” (五二零 wǔ èr líng) sound like “I love you” (我爱你 wǒ ài nǐ) in Chinese. Therefore, May 20th has become yet another Chinese Valentine's Day! Although not as popular as the Qixi Festival, it is still a day for couples to exchange love notes, money-filled red envelopes, and small gifts.

But singles fret not! There is actually a holiday for singles in China. In fact, Singles' Day is so popular that it now ranks as the biggest 24-hour shopping event in the world!

Although it's no longer considered a romantic holiday today, the Lantern Festival was also associated with love and romance in ancient China and is sometimes referred to as the "real" traditional Chinese Valentine's Day.

Now that you know the basics about romantic holidays in China, why not brush up on your Chinese vocabulary? The first step to meeting someone new is saying "hello," so check out our list of 12 ways to say "hi" in Chinese.

Of course, the best way to improve your Chinese is to engage in full language immersion. We hope to see you someday in Guilin to learn Chinese in China!

Chinese Vocabulary Related to China's Romantic Holidays

ChinesePinyinEnglish
爱情àiqínglove
谈恋爱tán liàn'àito date
订婚dìnghūnto get engaged
结婚jiéhūnto marry
情侣qínglǚlovers
鲜花xiānhuāfresh flowers
礼物lǐwùgift
蠋光晚餐zhú guāng wǎncāncandle lit dinner
调情tiáoqíngto flirt
帅哥shuàigēhandsome guy
美女měinǚbeautiful girl
男朋友nánpéngyǒuboyfriend
女朋友nǚpéngyǒugirlfriend
暗恋ànliànto have a crush; to like someone in secret
告白gàobáito confess
花心huāxīnfickle; unfaithful
花花公子huāhuā gōngzǐplayboy
约会yuēhuì(go on a) date
网恋wǎngliànonline dating
来电láidiànto have chemistry with someone
吃醋chīcùto be jealous
心碎xīn suìheartbreak
幸福xìngfúhappiness
七夕节QīxìjiéQixi Festival; Chinese Valentine’s Day
情人节QíngrénjiéValentine's Day (international)
白色情人节Báisè QíngrénjiéWhite Valentine’s Day
五二零节Wǔ'èrlíngjié520 Festival

One-on-One Chinese Lessons

One-on-One Chinese Lessons

Continue Exploring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *