什么是拼音?

许多初学普通话的学生惊讶地发现,在开始深入研究汉字的奥秘之前,他们必须首先学习一种完全不同的书写系统,称为拼音。 你问什么是拼音?

阅读本文以了解有关这个巧妙的汉字罗马化系统的所有信息。 一旦您对拼音的起源有了更好的了解,请查看 CLI 交互式中文拼音图 开始学习系统。

拼音:学习汉语不可或缺的一部分

汉语有着令人难以置信的悠久历史——大约可以追溯到 5,000 年前。 事实上,考古学家已经 发现的汉字 早在商朝晚期(公元前 1600 - 1046 年)。 这意味着 汉字系统 至少有 3,000 年的历史。

但众所周知,汉字很难学,即使是母语人士也是如此。 输入:拼音。

汉语拼音是中国大陆标准汉语的官方罗马化系统,是最常用的 语音系统 使用 拉丁字母. 汉语很难,但是在学习汉语的早期学习拼音可以极大地加快普通学生掌握这门语言的速度。

就我们而言,拼音是一种语言工具,可协助语言学习过程并允许您 输入中文 在您的计算机或智能手机上。

拼音简史

学者什么时候开始用西方字母抄写中文? 1605 年,耶稣会传教士 利玛窦 出版了已知的第一个中西文本,题为 西子七集. 该系统使用罗马字母来转录中文。

竞争的书面系统

快进到 20 世纪初期,您会发现几个相互竞争的普通话罗马化系统: 威妥玛, 中国邮政地图罗马化 (臭名昭著的 北京给了我们北京), 格威·罗玛兹(Gwoyeu Romatzyh).

然而,这些系统中的每一个都有其问题。 由于对现有罗马化方法的持续不满,学者们继续寻找更好的解决方案。

1930 年代,中国共产党在苏联领导层的配合下,引入了一种使用罗马字母的拼音字母表,称为 辛温兹, 意思是“新写作”。 目标是提高俄罗斯远东地区,即中国移民的识字率。 Sin Wenz 在 1940 年代达到了最高人气。

利玛窦和另一位在中国的耶稣会传教士

像利玛窦这样的耶稣会传教士是第一个将中文罗马化的人。

进入周有光

1950 年代,一群中国语言学家开始研究新的罗马化系统,以提高识字率。 很快,语言学家和汉学家 周有光 产生了重大突破:汉语拼音。

很多人认为周是“拼音之父”,但他谦虚地说:“我不是拼音之父,我是拼音之子。这是晚年悠久传统的结果。清朝直到今天。但我们重新研究了这个问题,重新审视了它,使它更加完美。” 换句话说,周认为他的书面系统只是几个世纪以来将中文音译为罗马拼写的产物。

11 年 1958 月 2 日,拼音正式取代了中国的所有其他罗马化方法。 然而,新系统需要时间才能在海外流行起来。 事实上,洛杉矶时报一直等到 1979 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日才采用并 介绍它的读者 周氏的写作方法。 《纽约时报》告诉观众,“北京”将从此成为“北京”,而“广州变成广州,天津变成天津”。

幸运的是,在过去的 70 多年里,西方世界一直在稳步采用拼音。 今天,它被中国、台湾、新加坡、美国和联合国承认为中文的官方罗马化系统。

拼音之父周有光在办公桌前写字

周有光被认为是拼音之父。

近代拼音

中文学生通常认为只有非母语人士才会使用拼音。 然而,事实上,中国本土学生也是从幼儿园开始就和汉字一起学习这个系统的。

虽然拼音在小学后从教科书中消失了,但它对于学习新汉字的发音和声调仍然有用。 此外,母语为汉语的人每天在电脑或手机上打字时都会使用拼音。

在学习汉语的早期学习拼音有助于打下坚实的语言基础,并有助于学习新单词。 但是,请记住,该系统只是辅助中文学习过程的工具。

可以只学拼音不学汉字吗?

许多学生想知道他们是否可以简单地学习拼音并避免 中国文字 共。 这是 极其不可取! 学习汉字和拼音的重要性有很多原因。 最关键的是,几乎每个拼音音都有它所代表的多个常用汉字。

例如,以拼音“guo”为例。 这种语音组合可以表示水果(果 guǒ)、国家(国 guó)、过(过 guò,如过马路 guò mǎlù)、锅(锅)和其他各种词。 “郭”甚至是100个最 常见的中国姓氏 (郭国)。

随着学习的进展,试图将所有这些不同的单词作为单个拼音组合来记忆将变得效率低下且不必要地困难。 学习汉字可以让你更容易地将意思与发音联系起来。

拼音是汉语的罗塞塔石碑

汉字是美丽的,有趣的,有意义的。 它们是深深植根于中国文化中的活生生的中国历史。 当你揭开背后的“隐藏意义”时,汉字让学习中文变得令人兴奋和冒险 自由基、字符和短语。

拼音是打开这个奇妙宇宙的罗塞塔石碑。 因此,如果您决定将重点放在学习中文上,了解拼音的重要性和局限性以及汉字的文化意义和历史至关重要。

结账单 CLI 的中文拼音图 查看中文中使用的所有拼音组合。

一对一中文课

一对一中文课

继续探索

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

LinkedIn Facebook Pins YouTube的 RSS 推特 Instagram 空白 RSS-空白 空白 Pins YouTube的 推特 Instagram

The Chinese language has an incredibly long history—dating back roughly 5,000 years. In fact, archaeologists have uncovered written Chinese script from as early as the late Shang Dynasty (1600 – 1046 BCE). That means the Chinese character system is at least 3,000 years old.

But Chinese characters are notoriously difficult to learn, even for native speakers. Enter: pinyin.

Chinese Pinyin, the official romanization system for Standard Chinese in mainland China, is the most commonly used phonetic system for writing Mandarin using the Latin alphabet. Learning pinyin early in one’s Chinese studies dramatically accelerates the speed at which a typical student acquires the language. Pinyin, for our purposes, is a linguistic tool to assist in the learning process and to type in Chinese on your computer or smartphone.

A Brief History of Pinyin

When was the Chinese language first transcribed into Western alphabets? The first known Chinese-to-Western text, titled Xizi Qiji, was published in 1605 by the Jesuit missionary Matteo Ricci. This system used the Roman alphabet to transcribe the Chinese language.

Competing Written Systems

Fast-forward to the early 20th century and you’ll find several competing romanization systems of Mandarin: Wade-Giles, Chinese Postal Map Romanization (which infamously gave us Peking for Beijing), and Gwoyeu Romatzyh.

The Chinese Communist Party, in conjunction with leadership from the USSR, introduced a phonetic alphabet using Roman letters called Sin Wenz—meaning “new writing”—during the 1930s. The goal was to improve literacy in the Russian Far East, namely for Chinese immigrants. Sin Wenz reached its peak popularity in the 1940s.

 

Matteo Ricci in China

Enter Zhou Youguang

In the 1950s, a group of Chinese linguists began work on a new romanization system in order to increase literacy. Linguist and sinologist Zhou Youguang produced a major breakthrough: Hanyu Pinyin (汉语拼音).

Zhou is often considered “the father of pinyin,” but he humbly stated that “I’m not the father of pinyin, I’m the son of pinyin. It’s [the result of] a long tradition from the later years of the Qing dynasty down to today. But we restudied the problem and revisited it and made it more perfect.” To paraphrase Zhou, his written system is the product of centuries of transliterating Chinese into romanized spelling.

On February 11, 1958, pinyin officially replaced all other romanization methods in China, yet it took time for the new system to catch. It was not until March 2, 1979 that the Los Angeles Times adopted and introduced its readers to Zhou’s method of writing. “Peking,” the Times told its audience, would henceforth be “Beijing”, while “Canton becomes Guangzhou and Tientsin becomes Tianjin.”

Fortunately, the Western world has steadily adopted pinyin over the past 70-plus years. To this day, it is recognized by China, Taiwan, Singapore, the United States, and the United Nations as the official system of romanization for the Chinese language.

 

Zhou-youguang-what-is-pinyin

Pinyin in Modern Times

Students of the Chinese language often believe that only non-native speakers use pinyin. In fact, native Chinese students learn the system alongside Chinese characters starting in kindergarten. Though pinyin is eventually dropped from textbooks after primary school, it is still useful for learning the pronunciation and tones of new characters. Pinyin is also used daily when typing on computers or mobile phones.

Learning pinyin early in your Chinese studies helps establish a solid foundation with the language and will help you learn new words. However, remember that this system is merely a tool to assist in the Chinese learning process.

Many students wonder why they can’t just learn pinyin instead of Chinese characters. The reason is simple—each individual pinyin sound is associated with dozens of Chinese characters. For example, the following characters are all written “guo” in pinyin, albeit with varying tones: 果 (fruit), 国 (country), 过 (to cross), and 锅 (cooking pot), to name a few.

Therefore, Chinese characters are essential to knowing the meaning of each “guo”, even when tones are added. Learning Chinese characters will allow you to associate meaning with pronunciation.

Can I Just Learn Pinyin and Not Chinese Characters?

Many students wonder if they can simply learn pinyin and avoid Chinese characters altogether. This is extremely inadvisable! There are many reasons why learning characters alongside pinyin is essential. Most crucially, nearly every pinyin sound has multiple commonly used Chinese characters that it represents.

For example, take the pinyin sound “guo”. This phonetic combination can mean fruit (果 guǒ), country (国 guó), to cross (a road) (过 guò, as in 过马路 guò mǎlù), cooking pot (锅), and a variety of other words. “Guo” is even one of the 100 most common Chinese family names (郭 Guō). As you advance in your studies, trying to remember all of these different words as a single pinyin combination will become inefficient and unnecessarily difficult. Learning Chinese characters will allow you to more easily associate meaning with pronunciation.

Pinyin is the Rosetta Stone to the Chinese Language

Chinese characters are beautiful, intriguing, and meaningful. They are living pieces of Chinese history that are deeply embedded in Chinese culture. Characters make learning Chinese exciting and adventurous as you uncover the “hidden meaning” behind radicals, characters, and phrases.

Pinyin is the Rosetta Stone to unlocking this wonderful universe. If you decide to set your focus on learning Chinese, be sure to understand both the importance and limitations of pinyin, as well at the cultural significance and history of Chinese characters.

Check out CLI’s Pinyin Chart and Cheat Sheet to see all phonetic combinations in the Chinese language.