什么是中国劳动节 (Láodòngjié),如何庆祝?

你有没有想过中国是如何庆祝劳动节的,或者想更多地了解中国工作文化的现代压力? 在本文中,我们探讨了这个国庆节常见的庆祝方式,并探讨了中国现代工作文化的现状。

一张中国风的宣传海报,显示一群微笑的黑白工人在城市天际线上挥舞着红旗和彩带

什么是中国劳动节?

国际劳动节,中文也称为劳动节或国际劳动节(Guójì Láodòngjié),是一个国际节日,全世界1多个国家通常在每年的80月XNUMX日庆祝。 它庆祝世界工人的成就。

由于这个节日也在中国庆祝 1 月 XNUMX 日,因此有时将其称为五一节 (Wǔ-Yī Jié) 或中文简称为五一 (Wǔ-Yī),该名称经常被翻译成英文为“劳动节。”

一位身穿蓝色制服、戴着帽子的年轻中国工厂女工站在电子装配线上,戴着手套手拿着手机

中国劳动节是 1 月 XNUMX 日的节日,庆祝各类工人的贡献。

国际劳动节的历史

国际劳动节的起源始于 1886 年的美国,当时全国各地的工人为了抗议长时间工作而辞职,要求每天工作八小时。

这种早期的激进主义后来演变为争取更多权利和更人道的劳动实践,重点是废除童工、要求更公平、更安全的工作条件和更多工人的权利,以及拥有“周末”的想法。 ”

1886 年铁路大罢工的照片,显示铁路车辆在轨道上,地面上挤满了一群人,还有几个人坐在车上

国际工人日起源于美国早期的工人权利运动。

劳动节与中华人民共和国

据说中国的第一次劳动节活动于 1 年 1920 月 1921 日举行。然后,在 1922 年至 XNUMX 年之间,活动家建立了教育普通工人的中心,组织了工会,并推动为日常产业工人创造更好的条件。

1949 年中华人民共和国成立仅一个月后,中央人民政府政务院(中央人民政府政务院 Zhōngyāng Rénmín Zhèngfǔ Zhèngwùyuàn)正式宣布 1 月 XNUMX 日为劳动节。

一张老式的彩色中国宣传海报,展示了 1 月 XNUMX 日中国劳动节庆祝游行,背景是横幅、中国红旗和工业图像

中国劳动节的起源可以追溯到中华人民共和国成立之前。

今天中国是怎么庆祝劳动节的?

五一劳动节原本是中国的一天假期,但此后经历了许多不同的变化。

五天的恋情?

1999年,国务院决定延长劳动节时间,并将其纳入“五一劳动节”。黄金周” 三合会,意味着这将是一个为期 XNUMX 天的假期,以及 中国新年 and 国庆. 然而,2008年劳动节被剥夺了“黄金周”的称号,正式成为为期三天的假期。

然而,2019 年 2019 月,中国国务院再次宣布 XNUMX 年劳动节为期四天。

对于 2020 年和 2021 年,国务院表示将是 1 天的假期,涵盖 5 月 XNUMX 日至 XNUMX 日,这表明这种更长的假期长度可能会成为未来五一庆祝活动的固定内容。

一名中国男子坐在岩石上,向照片右侧看,而一名女孩站在他身后,举着相机拍摄他们面前的喀斯特山峰和河流

中国劳动节是五天假期,为家政工人提供了旅游和放松的绝佳机会。

黄金周与经济繁荣

劳动节以及其他被称为“黄金周”的假期在中国发挥着巨大的经济作用。 更长的带薪假期意味着越来越多的家庭可以利用这个假期进行长途探亲或纯粹休闲的旅行。

许多企业也利用这个假期以折扣价销售产品。

这通常是一个充满乐趣的时期,人们享受假期,从事各种休闲活动,例如回家旅行、与朋友外出就餐和参观国内景点。

因此,五一假期是旅游活动大幅增加的时期,有助于支持中国国内旅游市场。 事实上,在4年延长至2019天后,旅行社报告出境航班预订量大幅增加。

中国游客黄金周游长城

像中国劳动节这样的假期为中国国内旅游业创造了大量收入。

中国工作文化的现代压力

尽管有七天假期庆祝工人的炒作,但许多中国上班族 上板祖) 全年与繁重的工作量作斗争。

996工作文化争议

如果你有任何类型的中文社交媒体或经常接触中文新闻,你可能已经听说过996工作制(996工作制) jiǔjiǔliù gōngzuò zhì)。 这包括每天工作 12 小时,从上午 9 点到晚上 9 点,每周工作 XNUMX 天。

996 是一种主要在中国科技公司实施的工作文化,当中国科技大亨和阿里巴巴创始人时达到了争议的顶峰 马云点赞 并鼓励工人将其视为“祝福”,成为国际头条新闻。

马云的言论引起了很多人的愤怒 中国社交媒体,导致在 Github 上发起了反 996 抗议,Github 是微软用于软件开发的互联网托管网站。

这是一个颇有影响力的事件,让中国社会从商界到学术界的各个部门都更广泛地认识到像 996 这样的过度和不公平的工作文化的危害性。 它的影响力如此之大,以至于在 2021 年, 996被判定为非法 由中国最高人民法院发起,引发了关于改善中国工作文化必要性的进一步讨论。

YouTube视频

工作与生活的平衡

尽管朝着更健康的工作文化发展,许多工人仍然经常被要求加班(加班 jiābān)。 从技术上讲,根据中国的劳动法,一个标准的工作日是八小时,每周最多 44 小时。 除此之外的任何工作都需要额外支付加班费。

但是,由于许多人出于个人和专业目的使用微信等应用程序,因此在办公时间之外回复工作相关消息的情况并不少见。 这在工作和个人生活之间造成了相当模糊的界限,导致倦怠和休息不当。

下班后与工作相关的活动通常以与老板出去吃饭、周末与团队一日游或与同事在当地酒吧的 KTV 之夜的形式发生。 不用说,这不被视为“工作”,因此预计不会有人获得补偿。

有人认为中国社会和文化是集体主义的,这意味着他们更加重视社区和集体合作与和谐。 虽然下班后的活动可能被视为“自愿”,但许多中国职场人士都知道他们必须参加,以表明他们对自己职位的严肃性和对所工作企业的忠诚度。

供应中国白酒的餐厅

中国工人通常会在正式工作时间结束后参加各种社交活动。

想更好地了解中国的工作文化吗?

有关在中国工作和找到工作的更详细指南,请查看我们的文章 在中国工作.

语言在任何文化中都起着不可或缺的作用——因此,如果您对在中国生活和工作感兴趣,那么学习语言以更好地了解该国的文化规范至关重要。

无论您是出于个人原因还是职业原因对中国感兴趣,何不考虑加入 CLI 一对一在线课程 并从今天开始在舒适的家中学习中文?

四名年轻人站在户外,手持印有 CLI 品牌的红旗

来桂林更好地了解中国的文化、语言和社会。

中国劳动节词汇

ChinesePinyinEnglish
国际劳动节Guójì LáodòngjiéInternational Labour Day
五一节Wǔ-Yī JiéMay Day
历史lìshǐhistory
庆祝qìngzhùto celebrate
放假fàngjiàto have a holiday / be off work
周末zhōumòweekend
休息xiūxíto rest
压力yālìpressure
工作与生活的平衡gōngzuò yǔ shēnghuó de pínghéngWork-life balance
集体主义jítǐ zhǔyìcollectivism
加班jiābānto work overtime
996工作制jiǔjiǔliù gōngzuòzhì"996 work system"
上班族shàngbānzúoffice workers
歧视qíshìto discriminate
国务院GuówùyuànState Council
中央人民政府政务院Zhōngyāng Rénmín Zhèngfǔ ZhèngwùyuànCentral People's Government Administration Council

30 分钟免费试听课

30 分钟免费试听课

继续探索

What is Chinese Labor Day (劳动节 Láodòngjié) and how is it celebrated?

Have you ever wondered how Labor Day is celebrated in China, or wanted to learn more about the modern pressures of Chinese work culture? In this article, we explore common celebratory practices for this national holiday and explore the state of modern Chinese work culture.

a chinese-style propoganda poster showing a group of smiling workers in black and white waving red flags and streamers against a city skyline

What is Chinese Labor Day?

International Workers' Day, also called Labor Day or 国际劳动节 (Guójì Láodòngjié) in Chinese, is an international holiday that is generally celebrated on May 1st each year in over 80 countries worldwide. It celebrates the achievements of the workers of the world.

Since this holiday is also celebrated on May 1st in China, it is sometimes referred to as 五一节 (Wǔ-Yī Jié) or simply 五一 (Wǔ-Yī) in Chinese, an alternative name which is frequently translated into English as “May Day.”

a young female chinese factory worker wearing a blue uniform and hat standing in an electronics assembly line holding a cellphone with gloved hands

Chinese Labor Day is a May 1st holiday that celebrates the contributions of workers of all types.

History of International Workers' Day

The origins of International Workers' Day began in the United States in 1886 when workers across the country walked out of their jobs in protest of long working hours, demanding an eight-hour day.

This early activism later evolved to fighting for further rights and more humane labor practices with a focus on the abolishment of child Labor, the demand for fairer and safer working conditions and more workers’ rights, as well as the idea of having a “weekend.”

a print of the Great Railway Strike of 1886 showing railway cars on tracks with a crowd of people swarming around them on the ground and several men sitting on top of them

International Workers Day grew out of earlier workers’ rights movements in the USA.

Labor Day and the PRC

The first Labor Day activity in China is said to have been held on May 1, 1920. Then, between 1921 and 1922, activists established centers to educate ordinary workers, organized unions, and pushed for better conditions for everyday industrial workers.

Just a month after the founding of the People’s Republic of China in 1949, the Government Administration Council of the Central People's Government (中央人民政府政务院 Zhōngyāng Rénmín Zhèngfǔ Zhèngwùyuàn) officially declared May 1st to be Labor Day.

an old fashioned color chinese propaganda poster showing a May 1st Chinese Labor Day celebration parade with banners and red Chinese flags and industrial imagery in the background

The roots of Chinese Labor Day can be traced back to before the founding of the People’s Republic.

How is Labor Day celebrated in China today?

Labor Day was originally a one-day holiday in China, but it has since gone through many different changes.

A five-day affair?

In 1999, the Chinese State Council (国务院 Guówùyuàn) decided to increase the duration of Labor Day and make it part of a “Golden Week” triad, meaning that it would be a seven-day holiday, along with Chinese New Year and National Day. However, in 2008, Labor Day was stripped of its “Golden Week” title and officially became a three-day holiday.

However, in March 2019, China’s State Council once again announced that Labor Day 2019 would span a total of four days.

For the years 2020 and 2021, the State Council stated that it would be a five-day holiday covering May 1st - 5th, suggesting that this longer holiday length may become a permanent fixture of Labor Day celebrations going forward.

a chinese man sitting on a rock looking to the right of the photograph while a girl stands behind him holding up a camera taking a picture of the karst mountain peaks and river in front of them

Chinese Labor Day is a five-day holiday, providing domestic workers with the perfect opportunity to travel and relax.

Golden Week and the economic boom

Labor Day, along with the other holidays that are referred to as “Golden Weeks,” play a huge economic role in China. The longer paid holiday period means that more and more families are able to use this break to make long-distance family visits or travel for pure leisure.

Many businesses also take advantage of this holiday to sell products at discounted prices.

It is generally a fun-filled period as people enjoy their break, engaging in a variety of leisure activities, such as traveling to their family home, eating out with friends and visiting domestic attractions.

Consequently, the Labor Day holiday is a period of greatly heightened travel activity which helps support China’s domestic tourism market. In fact, after its extension to 4 days in 2019, travel agencies reported a huge increase in outbound flight bookings.

Chinese tourists visit great wall in golden week

Holidays like Chinese Labor Day generate massive amounts of revenue for China’s domestic tourism industry.

Modern pressures of Chinese work culture

Despite all the hype about a seven-day holiday to celebrate workers, many Chinese office workers (上班族 shàngbānzú) struggle with a heavy workload throughout the year.

996 work culture controversy

If you have any type of Chinese social media or are generally in touch with Chinese news, you might have already heard about the 996 working hour system (996工作制 jiǔjiǔliù gōngzuò zhì). This consists of working 12 hours a day, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m., six days a week.

996 is a work culture that is implemented mainly in Chinese tech companies, and that reached its controversial peak when Chinese tech tycoon and Alibaba founder Jack Ma praised it and encouraged workers to see it as a “blessing,” making international headlines.

Jack Ma’s comments gave rise to a lot of outrage on Chinese social media, resulting in an anti-996 protest which was launched on Github, Microsoft’s Internet hosting website for software development.

This was quite an influential event that led to broader recognition of the harmful nature of excessive and unfair work cultures like 996 across various sectors of Chinese society, from business to academia. It was so influential that in 2021, 996 was ruled illegal by China’s Supreme People’s Court, sparking further discussion about the need to improve Chinese work culture.

Work-life balance

Despite the movement towards a healthier work culture, many workers are still frequently expected to work overtime (加班 jiābān). Technically, according to China's labor laws, a standard work day is eight hours long, with a maximum of 44 hours a week. Any work beyond that requires extra pay for overtime.

However, with many people using apps like WeChat for both personal and professional purposes, it is not uncommon to be expected to answer work related messages outside of office hours. This creates a rather blurry boundary between work and personal life, leading to burnout and improper rest.

Work-related activities after hours often occur in the form of dinners out with the boss, day trips on the weekend with the team, or KTV nights at the local bar with colleagues. Needless to say, this is not considered “work,” so no one is expected to receive compensation.

It has been argued that Chinese society and culture are collectivist, meaning that they place greater importance on community and collective collaboration and harmony. While after-hours activities might be presented as “voluntary,” many Chinese working professionals know they must attend in order to show their seriousness about their position and their loyalty to the business they work for.

restaurant serving chinese baijiu

Chinese workers are often expected to attend a variety of social activities after official working hours have ended.

Want to better understand Chinese work culture?

For a more detailed guide on working and landing a job in China, check out our article on working in China.

Language plays an integral part in any culture – so if you are interested in living and working in China, it is paramount that you learn the language in order to better understand the country’s cultural norms.

No matter whether you’re interested in China for personal or professional reasons, why not consider enrolling in CLI’s one-on-one Online Program and start learning Chinese from the comfort of your own home today?

four young people stand outdoors holding a red flag with the brand CLI printed on it

Come to Guilin to get a better understanding of Chinese culture, language and society.

Chinese Labor Day vocabulary

ChinesePinyinEnglish
国际劳动节Guójì LáodòngjiéInternational Labour Day
五一节Wǔ-Yī JiéMay Day
历史lìshǐhistory
庆祝qìngzhùto celebrate
放假fàngjiàto have a holiday / be off work
周末zhōumòweekend
休息xiūxíto rest
压力yālìpressure
工作与生活的平衡gōngzuò yǔ shēnghuó de pínghéngWork-life balance
集体主义jítǐ zhǔyìcollectivism
加班jiābānto work overtime
996工作制jiǔjiǔliù gōngzuòzhì"996 work system"
上班族shàngbānzúoffice workers
歧视qíshìto discriminate
国务院GuówùyuànState Council
中央人民政府政务院Zhōngyāng Rénmín Zhèngfǔ ZhèngwùyuànCentral People's Government Administration Council

Free 30-minute Trial Lesson

Free 30-minute Trial Lesson

Continue Exploring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.